Cheesy Stuffed Tomato

I love love love cheese. All kinds of cheese. The MORE cheese the better!

Know what else I love? Tomatoes and cheese together. In salads, on pizza, in my tummy because it ’tis so yummy. (I totally know I’m a dork, you don’t even have to tell me…it’s a known fact). 

But knowing that I love cheese and I love tomatoes, what better way to combine the two than to stuff tomatoes with a cheesy filling? I make these often because they are easy, yummy, and they look really pretty. They are totally versatile, you can use any kind of cheese you like, any kind of ‘mater you have growing on the vine or find on sale at the store. With our summer crops hitting soon, I thought this was a good time to share this recipe.

So here’s who I’ve invited to the party

I’m still learning how to use my new camera…so this is a bit fuzzy. Sorry. Simple ingredients, and like I said…use what you have on hand. My hubby prefers parmesan cheese in these, but I was in the mood for gorgonzola (so he just had to deal with it).  I’m so mean…

Clearly I need a tri-pod!

I made 2 whole tomatoes, but I’ll write the ingredients for 1 tomato. That way you can just double, triple, heck go ahead and quadruple this recipe because it’s THAT darn good.

So you just cut the tomato in half, remove and discard seeds and membrane. If I have time, I will also lightly salt the tomato hull and let them drain for a few minutes upside down on a paper towel. This helps them keep their shape, but in a pinch they taste just as good without this step.

Then the garlic is best if it is schmooshed, schmeared, really mashed up. The way I do that is first I dice it up, then cover it with a healthy pinch of salt, then I use the blade of the knife over and over to moosh it up. The salt assists the knife to really pulverize the stuff! You’ll need 1 garlic clove per tomato.

I KNOW, another blurry photo. I’m workin’ on it!!!! I’ll get better I promise! Don’t give up on me…

Mix in a bowl 2 Tbs Panko, 2 Tbs Cheese, 1 tsp Herb, pinch of pepper, 1 clove of smashed garlic, and 1/2 tsp olive oil.

I would show you a photo of this as well, but I almost burned down my house at this very moment. You see, I was also making sautéed onions and peppers, which I left unattended on the stove while I was taking photos of the tomatoes. I guess time got away from me – there was smoke, there were alarms, there were phone calls from the alarm company, but there were no photos of the filling for the tomatoes.

You just split the stuffing evenly between the tomato halves, there’s nothing fancy to do here. The only note I have is that you don’t want to “pack down” the stuffing, just lightly spoon it in. This keeps the stuffing from getting too soggy in the oven. I also do a quick spritz of Pam or drizzle of olive oil on top of the tomatoes to help with browning…

Then cook the tomatoes at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown on top.

Yay, a photo that isn’t too fuzzy. These really are yummy and super easy. I sometimes cook them on the grill with a piece of foil underneath, they turn out just as nice.

Here’s a prettier version of the recipe…and mom I’m learning how to make a printable version. Hopefully I will figure that out really soon.

Cheesy Stuffed Tomato

1 Tomato – Roma’s keep their shape really well, but any kind will do

1 clove of garlic, smeared

2 Tbs Panko

2 Tbs Cheese, I used gorganzola, parmesan works really well too

1 tsp Herb chopped, I used basil

pinch of pepper

1/2 tsp olive oil

*Cooking spray

Cut tomatoes in half, remove and discard seeds and membrane. Lightly salt each half and allow to drain on a paper towel for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, stir together Panko through Olive Oil in a small bowl.

Split mixture evenly, lightly spooning into tomato halves.

Spray tops with cooking spray or drizzle very lightly with olive oil to assist with browning.

Cook at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

I know you’ll love it! – L&V

This entry was published on May 18, 2010 at 12:43 pm and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Cheesy Stuffed Tomato

  1. MommytoThree on said:

    I don’t like raw tomatoes, but these cooked ones with CHEESE I am ssoooo willing to try! I would be willing to bet this would also be awesome in a bell pepper. Have you ever tried it?

  2. MommytoThree on said:

    Will definitely try the squash and zucchini… two of my favorite veggies! I esp like them fried and dipped in ranch 🙂

  3. So, here’s the plan…you and Nigel, the blind wiener dog – and even Jeremy and Nash if desired, are going to make a trip up to J’Vegas. I will schedule hair appts for us with The Amazing Jen, and we will sit on the back porch, drink coffee and wine, and “visit” to our hearts content…but first, and immediately upon arrival, I’d REALLY like for you to make me some of these…and I will make Sangria…and the boys will talk war…there are ever new babies nearby that I can totally use to bribe you…whaddya say? In the car yet?

  4. …and I can’t seem to spell tonight…maybe it’s time for bed!!! Or, more coffee…

Leave a Reply

