Lizards make me happy

I don’t know why, it’s just one of those strange things…but for some reason, lizards make me happy.

I really can’t explain why. I guess it’s the same reason Hello Kitty makes my sister giddy, or an orange coffee mug makes my friend Susan feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It’s like blush and bashful, “Pink is my signature color”. Sorry, I let a little ‘Steel Magnolias” slip in there. But these items are our identifiers, and lizards are my thing…

I have a lot of little lizard things, each of them makes me smile when I come across it. Some of my lizard paraphernalia is more obvious… like this, which is on our mantle

How could you pass this guy up without letting out a giggle? I have had this vase for several years, and I love it as much now as I did all those years ago when my mom gave it to me as a gift.

You see, this passion for lizards has been around for a very long time. I used to try justifying my weird infatuation by explaining how lizards represent human emotion or some crap like that. Yeah, it was just bologna to cover up the fact that I just think lizards are cute no matter how strange that may seem. (*side note – I had to sing the Oscar Mayer wiener song to properly spell B-O-L-O-G-N-A).

Another lizard knick-knack, a lizard bottle opener. Does it make you laugh? Or am I all alone here?

It was this love for lizards that brought me to purchase this next item. It is not fancy nor expensive, but it had my name all over it. It called to me, “Alllllllex, Allllllllllllex…you NEED me. Alllllllllex you LOVE me! Alllllllllex…BUY me!!!!”.

As one that listens to the voices in her head, I did buy this lizard item. However, hello! I did wait until it went on sale 50% off! I know I’m like the only person in the world that would actually buy this lizard stuff, it was only a matter of time before it was on sale. And that just makes me love it more.

Do ya love it?????? Oh I do. It makes me smile all over, those cutie-pie lil lizards. OH! And look inside, see those little bowls? I bet you’ll see those soon when I photograph recipes, they are the perfect size for individual ingredients.

Aren’t they adorable? Just makes me want grilled chicken and guacamole, sitting on the deck with a margarita. Do brightly colored dishes make you excited about the pool opening? School year ending? Fourth of July? Family vacations?

Well that’s what they make me think of, and the lizards are an added little boost of happy for me.

This entry was published on May 20, 2010 at 4:21 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Lizards make me happy

  1. susan currie on said:

    i feel like a celebrity…i have been mentioned in your blog!!!!….this is a big day for me….let me know if any of your fans would like an autographed picture

Leave a Reply

