B is for Blue Cheese Dressing

I got a new cookbook!

I get absolutely giddy when I get a new cookbook. I read it cover to cover, I feel the slick pages and envision the spectacular dinner parties that I could orchestrate from the recipes. I call friends to tell them about the new ways to prepare food that I hadn’t thought of before.

I got Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood. I have noticed that I have posted several times about different things that my mom and dad have given me, this is yet another gift. They were kind enough to send me this via Amazon as a thank you for, as they put it, elder care. Each of my folks had surgery almost back-to-back to one another, bringing me to their home both times to care for them. I could write a whole other post on those two weeks…but I digress.

This week I will be making several recipes from this book, including Cranberry Bread and Pumpkin Bread to send to my hubby’s friend in Afghanistan.

Then, I can’t wait for this one, I’ll be making the Keylime Cake. Yep, I said CAKE, not pie. I saw Ms. Yearwood on Good Morning America with this cake and it looked so delicious. Robin even tasted it and said, “Yum. I mean, really, yum. I was prepared to give a polite mmmm, but that is delicious.” I knew that this would be the cake for me!

Finally later this week we are having friends over for dinner and I will be making Asparagus Bundles. Let’s just say it has asparagus obviously, but get this – it also has brown sugar and BACON!

But first, I made Blue Cheese Dressing to pair with our homegrown lettuce. A simple and tasty recipe.

Pretty simple and expected ingredients.

Pour together the juice of 1 large lemon, 1 C mayonnaise and above I am adding 1 C buttermilk.

Whisking in 1.5 tsp each of garlic and onion powders.

There’s something very therapeutic about whisking. And there is something very enjoyable about a simple recipe that requires very little thought or effort, yet you end up with something homemade and impressive. I was totally having fun at this point.

After whisking the heck out of the liquid mix, gently stir in 1.5 C crumbled blue cheese.

And voila, you have homemade Blue Cheese Dressing.

Looks so pretty doesn’t it? The dressing is a little bit runny compared to store-bought, but I kind of liked that on my salad because it didn’t just sit on top of the lettuce. It actually dripped down between the leaves and flavored the whole bowl of salad.

I have really loved this cookbook. There are fun family photos and stories for each recipe , the photos are gorgeous and the recipes are familiar yet creative.

Be sure to come back again this week to see additional recipes I’ve made.

Blue Cheese Dressing (From Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood)

Click above for printable version

Juice of 1 large lemon

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup sour cream

1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder

1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder

6 ounces blue cheese, crumbled (about 1 1/2 cups)

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the lemon juice, mayonnaise, buttermilk, sour cream, garlic powder, and onion powder. Whisk the mixture together until smooth. Add the cheese and mix just until blended. Chill in an airtight container in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours before serving (makes 2 1/2 cups.

See y’all later this week – L&V

This entry was published on May 25, 2010 at 11:06 am and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

