Pumpkin Bread – Keep it quiet

As promised…another recipe from Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood.  Yesterday I made Pat’s Pumpkin Bread.

Let me tell all of you something, now come a little closer so I can whisper this in your ear, this pumpkin bread is goooooooooood. Don’t share this recipe with all your aunts and cousins and neighbors and friends. Keep it to yourself. That way, near the winter holidays, you will become famous simply by baking a few loaves of this bread and sharing it with everyone you know. Trust me, I know what I’m talking about here.

So you’re asking…if we’re supposed to keep this a secret, why then L&V are you sharing it on your site? Well, um, whoa, you caught me off guard there. Um? I guess because I feel an obligation to share, and because I’m one of the good guys, and um, because I love all of you. So there!

 Here’s the ingredients, typical bread stuff with the special addition of pumpkin.

Just a note – I bought a 30 oz can of pumpkin, but you only need a 15 oz can. 

This recipe calls for a stand mixer, but the mixture could probably be handled by a good handheld mixer in the event you don’t have a bad boy like this one. Honestly I just wanted to share a photo of the other love in my life, my Kitchenaid stand mixer.

 

Just a reminder that when adding eggs, please crack them into a seperate bowl first. Those shells are so difficult to pick out of a mixture. And if you don’t do this and end up with a shell in your batter, you will have to deal with the mental image of me doing the ‘I Told You So’ dance. And that aint pretty…it just aint pretty.

First step is creaming the oil, sugar, eggs and pumpkin. This is the moisture components for this bread.

Remember, I am packaging this up to ship to Afghanistan. Because this is such a dense, moist bread, chances are it will make it to its destination without drying out.

Another bonus of these moist breads is that they freeze really well after cooking. You will want to let them cool completely, then wrap them up really well with plastic wrap first, then aluminum foil, then I also place it in a freezer bag for safe keeping. Then to defrost, simply leave it on the counter for a day and it will be ready to eat.

Next step is sifting the dry ingredients together, flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, salt and cloves.

Another tip – I know I’m full of tips, well, I’m full of something, but anyhoo – sift the flour onto a large piece of parchment or wax paper.

Then make one of these…

A flour burrito! Seriously, folding up the bottom and edges of the parchment paper provides a method to transport the dry ingredients to the mixer bowl simply. With a bowl and spoon I always make a big mess and spoon dry ingredients in too quickly, with the burrito it’s easier to shake in a little at a time.

With the mixer on LOW, I mean, unless you like cleaning flour off of your cabinets, clothes, floor, dogs, kids, etc…

add the flour to the wet ingredients. Alternating flour, water, flour, water, flour…the water helps wet down the flour to mix in quickly and prevents the flour storm all over your kitchen. Just make sure you end with flour as you alternate.

The recipe calls for walnuts, but I elected to omit the nuts. If you want to add them, just fold them in with a spatula.

This make 3 loaves of bread. Spray each pan with cooking spray and fill with batter.

I only have 2 loaf pans, so I cooked the 3rd in an 8″ cake pan. Turned out delicious. That’s the one I let my hubby have, as I was sending the other 2 to our friend. (Hubby ate half of this loaf in 1 night. Like I said, it’s gooooooood).

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

If you love cookbooks the way I do, this is one that I have really enjoyed. I’ve shared 3 recipes with you so far and they have all turned out perfect and delicious. There are over 200 pages of recipes and images in this book, and they are all recipes that are comfortable and familiar. Food that I wouldn’t have normally thought of for dinner, but it’s simple and straight-forward enough for everyday cooking.

Disclaimer: Trisha Yearwood nor her publisher paid me to say great things about her book, nor do they have any idea who I am or that I even exist. The end.

L&V

Pat’s Pumpkin Bread (from Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood)

Click here for printable version

1 cup vegetable oil

3 cups sugar

4 large eggs

1 15-oz can pumpkin

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground allspice

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cloves

2/3 cup water

*1/2 cup walnuts, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray 3 – 9×5″ loaf pans with cooking spray.

In an electric mixer beat the oil, sugar, eggs and pumpkin until smooth.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, salt and cloves.

Add the flour mixture and the water to the egg mixture, alternating flour and water and beginning and ending with the flour mixture.

Fold in the walnuts.

Pour into the loaf pans and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of each loaf comes out clean.

This entry was published on May 29, 2010 at 9:44 am and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread – Keep it quiet

  1. Pat Luther on said:

    Better hope Ashley doesn’t read this. She will be headed to your house for pumpkin bread.

Leave a Reply

