Key Lime Cake, mmm mm

I made the prettiest cake this weekend. The Key lime Cake from Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood.

This recipe concludes the recipes I’ve tried and will post here. Well…for this week anyway. There’s still several veggie recipes that I want to try, I’ve just been in baking mode this past week.

 The recipe list is large…I even missed a couple of ingredients in this photo (like, the key limes). Duh.

When you are mixing up the batter, it’s the prettiest color green. As soon as heat hits it, it seems to turn brown. But don’t fret, you’ll the see the end results in a bit.

While the cakes were cooking, I was squeezing key limes. This becomes a mixture that is poured over the cakes to really add some tangy zip.

I did not realize how many seeds are in key limes. When you squeeze them, be prepared to also strain the liquid.

And yep, I still have the lilac nail polish on. It has lasted forever, and I still really like it. (For those of you that didn’t see the post where I mentioned the lilac polish…well I feared that it wasn’t age appropriate. Then I decided, WHATEVER, I like it!)

But I had to squeeze A LOT of key limes, and my fingers were tired!

I know, I’m a little bit of a baby. But I’m delicate…like a flower…

The recipe suggests piercing the cake to allow the key lime juice concoction to soak in a little faster.

Adding the juice did make the cake exceptionally moist and tangy.

The recipe calls for a very simple cream cheese frosting, and voila you have this beautiful cake. Doesn’t it look like a wedding cake?

I dressed it up by simply slicing a few key limes into wedges, and I have to say that this cake is for sure a show stopper.

Then you cut into it, and the cakes are this beautiful shade of lime green. It is so pretty against that creamy white icing.

I should note that the plate in this photo was my Mee Maw’s. I haven’t introduced all of you to my Mee Maw yet, but she was a huge part of my life and I have many hilarious Mee Maw stories which I plan to share very soon. But, at this point, all you need to know is that was her plate and I adore it. 

*In the event you are not a Southerner and you are saying to yourself, what in the heck is a Mee Maw…that’s what I called my Grandmother.

Final notes on the Key Lime Cake –

It is beautiful enough for a fancy occasion, but simple enough for an afternoon at the pool.

It is tangy, and really, really limey.

The cream cheese frosting was a little too sweet to me. I think next time I will use the icing on the sides, but on top of the cake I’ll do something like raspberry preserves or maybe just whipped cream.

But it is definitely a recipe that I would recommend. It is so beautiful and impressive, but so very simple. I love that!

I feel like this is one of her more ‘signature’ recipes, so I don’t feel comfortable posting instructions. But it’s such a pretty and simple cake, much like many of the recipes in Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood.

This entry was published on June 1, 2010 at 11:23 am and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Key Lime Cake, mmm mm

  1. MommytoThree on said:

    Thanks…. got all ready to make it (as Key Lime Pie is my husband’s favorite)… and no directions!! Does look delicious, though!!

  2. Pat Luther on said:

    Beautiful cake. Good Job. When do I get to taste?

  3. susan currie on said:

    the cake was delicious, but i agree that the cream cheese frosting was a little on the sweet side….would it totally ruin it to add some key lime juice to the frosting???i have never tried adding a citrus to cream cheese….it was just a thought….the citrus taste was my favorite part of the cake…yummy

  4. Nydia on said:

    Is the complete recipe for this Key Lime Cake in the “Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood.” Cookbook? I would really love to make this for my husband on his 40th Birthday next month, he loves Key Lime Cheese cake and from the pictures , it looks AMAZING!!
    Please let me know, I would greatly appreciaye it!!
    Have a blessed day~

    • That is correct, it is in her “Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood” cookbook. It was a really moist and delicious cake… I hope your hubby loves it!
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

