Summers on the deck

I absolutely love summer evenings on the back deck.

Last night was no exception. It was the perfect temperature, my hubby was manning the grill and we had a friend over for dinner.

I decided to keep things simple so I could visit with my friend rather than working myself into a frenzy in the kitchen. I have to say, with minimal effort we ended up with a feast!

Remember the blue cheese dressing I made 2 weeks ago? I used it up on this salad of Romaine, Vidalia onion and cucumber. It was delicious.

Smashed potatoes adapted from a recipe I found on www.thepioneerwoman.com. This is a new favorite in our house.

Mushrooms cooked my hubby’s favorite way… it’s really easy so I’ll share really quick. I buy the sliced button mushrooms. I heat up 1 Tbs olive oil, then dump in the mushrooms and 2 Tbs soy sauce. I cook them on high heat constantly turning. Right when I think they are done, I throw in 2 Tbs water and let it continue cooking until the water is gone and the shrooms are all dark and lovely. The end.

Our favorite grilled veggies.

Finally, Nash agreed that hubby cooked the steaks perfectly. (Medium-Rare for me please!). My only steak tip I learned from the Ol’ Hickory Steakhouse in Nashville…dust them with smoked paprika for a light flavor and a gorgeous color.

So when are y’all coming over for dinner???

L&V

This entry was published on June 8, 2010 at 1:18 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Summers on the deck

  1. MommytoThree on said:

    Mmmmmm….. looks delicious! And I thought I did good to make french toast and scrambled eggs and sausage for the kids last night!! As soon as the baby birds are gone out of our grill….. look out steaks, here we come!! 🙂

  2. Pat Luther on said:

    Looks delish. What time is dinner tonight??

  3. Thanks for coming by! What a cute blog you have & wow, you got me on this post with all those foodie pics. That looks so delish, I’m sure it was as good as it looks. Hope you’ll come back to visit again.

Leave a Reply

