Quirky

I once had a debate with a coworker about the word “quirky”.

He believed that calling someone quirky was a negative thing. Like saying, “You’re an odd-ball, weirdo, freak-a-zoid.”

I think quirky is much less offensive. Odd-ball might still be appropriate, but to me it means someone is unique, an individual, they have a funny sense-of-humor. Quirkiness is an ability to see things that others never notice, express things with more passion and silliness.

Basically I need to think ‘Quirky’ is a good thing, because I’m quirky. That’s cool, I’m okay with it.

I hope you will keep reading my blog for the next 100 years, so I thought I probably need to expose some of my quirkiness so that you can get to know me a bit better. The only appropriate format for sharing my quirkiness would be a random list of my odd-ball habits. So here it goes…

  1. I do not eat deli-meat. To me, this makes perfect sense – it is slimy, it grosses me out that the deli will slice a little off for me, then put that hunk of processed meat back in the fridge for the next stranger that comes along that wants a few slices off the same hunk. Gross. I don’t like sharing meat with perfect strangers. And did I mention that it’s slimy? Don’t try to analyze this, seriously, it just gets weirder the more questions you ask me…
  2. I will not share dairy products. I can not explain why, but the thought of taking a bite of ice cream off the same spoon anyone else has already eaten ice cream off of is totally nasty. A sip of milk after someone else sips that milk, nope. It’s the thought of little spindles of spit floating in that lactic product that just sends me over the edge. I am currently making an “ick” face as I type this. Yeah….not sharing milk products.
  3. I am addicted to Dr. Pepper lip balm. My mother gives me several tubes each year at Christmas. Then in  June I have to buy 4-5 more tubes which usually last me until I get my stocking. I put lip balm on about 2,793 times per day. Seriously, I have a tube in my car, purse, by the couch, in the kitchen and by my bed. I put it on my lips before I go to sleep, and at 1:30 sharp I wake up needing lip balm. (I just had to put some on because I was talking about it).
  4. I wipe off my dog’s feet with a wash rag every time he comes in the house.
  5. I love to make lists lists lists. My preference is to make a list in Excel because I can build in check boxes next to each item. That way I can print out the list and mark the box by each item. And I have a key for my marks… X-Cancelled item, Check-mark – Item completed, > – Move this item to updated list because I haven’t finished it yet but need to do it, (.) – Working on it but not done. Yeah…I’m “quirky” alright.
  6. I fidget. I didn’t realize how noticeable it was until a coworker told me that I’m always twirling my pen or doodling. This is why I love texting so much…gives me something to do with my hands so I don’t look like I’m nervous. Really, I don’t fidget because I’m nervous. I kinda do it because I’m bored and trying to not look bored.
  7. I get bored easily.
  8. I hate the following words: sausage, sore, scab, supper, moist and any weird way to say yum (ie yummo, yummers)
  9. I leave my shoes all over the house. One of my husband’s favorite past times is counting how many shoes he can find in a single room.
  10. My favorite color used to be purple, but it has evolved and is now pink. Why? I couldn’t tell ya.

Okay…10 quirky things about me. Are you quirky??? Tell me some of your quirky habits!

Love ya!

L&V

This entry was published on June 9, 2010 at 11:14 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Quirky

  1. Pat Luther on said:

    1. I love going barefoot indoors but cannot stand for my feet to get dirty.
    2. I wash my hands 1000 times a day, even if I haven’t done anything to get them dirty.
    3. I am a clock watcher. Don’t know why. I am retired and don’t do much.
    4. I have to check my bank balance online at least 3 times a day, even if I haven’t left the house to spend any money. Guess I’m
    too cheap or frugal.
    5. I cannot stand to drive in the rain. Had a wreck in the rain years ago so I guess that is why.
    6. I am a night owl. Can fall asleep in my chair but come midnight I am wide awake.
    7. Can’t stand cold sandwiches unless it is like a sub with lots of other things on it besides just meat & cheese.

    Love your blog!

  2. Haha. So you’re saying you don’t think slimy deli meat is yummers? 🙂

    My hubby also thinks “moist” is a weird word. Any time I say it he snickers. It could just be that he has a dirty mind, I guess!

    And I, too, used to wipe my dogs feet, but only in the spring when it was muddy outside. After that, I was just lazy.

    Do you want one of my quirky things? I’ve never, EVER texted. Not once in my life. I wouldn’t even know how to find it on my phone. Yes, I live in 1892, I realize that. 😉

    ~Kandi
    http://kandilandblog.blogspot.com

    • You’ve never texted? Wha wha wha WHAT? It’s the ideal form of communication. No real committment of time, but you can get questions answered, or just let someone know you’re thinking of them. It’s essential to my daily life! You must try it sometime. lol…

      Kayla – you actually found a grosser word than moist. You are correct, moistness is just really grody. ha!

  3. Kayla on said:

    How do you feel about about the little bags of Buddig deli meat? The only time I got that was when visiting my Gramma because it was too expensive for my mom and dad. Also, I love your Excel list idea – I too am a list maker – even my 3 year old – knows how to bring mommy her list – I even panic a little bit if I don’t have it with me – or near me – because I have learned that my brain isn’t what it used to be – so I WILL NOT remember to add that thingy to the list when I get home – or even when I go downstairs!!! I don’t mind the word moist – but the sound of “moistness” drives me bananas!!!!

Leave a Reply

