Lazy Man’s Berry Glop

I love to bake, I enjoy cooking in general, but the truth of the matter is – I’m lazy.

My Daddy always told me to never be a lazy cook, “Your food is only as good as the energy you put into it”. I hate to argue with my Daddy…but there’s a lot to be said for something that tastes good and was easy to make.

I concocted this Berry Glop out of sheer, unadulterated lethargy. Now I’ll be honest…if I’m making a cobbler for company or a special occasion, I go to the trouble of following a recipe and trying to make it look fancy. But if it’s just me and my hubby at home when our sweet tooth hits, out comes the laziness.  But you know I wouldn’t share a recipe with you unless it was really good, and my hubby craves this and requests it often.

So here’s the HUGE ingredient list:

1 lb Berries – You can use fresh or frozen. In these photos I used a pint of fresh blackberries and a bag of frozen blackberries. This is good with raspberries, blueberries, whatever you like. I have even made it with frozen cherries and frozen peaches.

In addition to the berries, use “a cup, a cup, a cup”… Cup of Sugar, Cup of Self-Rising Flour, Cup of Milk (2% or whole…or cream if you have it).

*The fat from the milk is needed, if using 1% or skim milk, add a Tbs of oil or butter to the mix.

That’s it – 4 ingredients + baking spray.

Simply whisk the sugar and flour together, then make a little well in the center. Pour the milk in and whisk it all together just until blended.

The batter is similar to pancake batter. Don’t stir it too much because it’ll activate the gluten in the flour and make your glop a little tough.

And there just aint nothin’ funny about tough glop.

I mean…I’d still eat it, but it’s better when it isn’t tough. Soft glop – mmmmmmmm. Tough glop – mm. Get it?

Cover an 8×8 casserole dish generously with cooking spray. Spread berries evenly across dish. Then pour the batter over the berries.

After all of the batter is in the dish, there will be berries poking through…that’s okay.

The whole point of glop is that it’s stress free. Berries poking through? Okay. Spill batter trying to get it into the dish? Okay. Drop a berry on the floor? Just rinse it off and throw it in there, it’ll be fine. (Okay, I’m too uptight to throw the berry in there, it would be garbage in my house, but you get the point).

Then…an hour later after cooking the glop at 350 degrees…

With 3 minutes of preparation and an hour in the oven, this is what comes out. It is seriously good.

Add some vanilla ice cream and your family will think you spent allllll day in the kitchen baking this for them. They don’t need to know that you spent all day watching the Real Housewives marathon. Oh, that’s just me that did that? No way, I know you were watching too!

So do you have any easy recipes like this? Something that you just throw together that your family loves? Share it with me so I can continue down my path of slothliness. (Is slothliness a word??? I don’t think so, but it should be.)

L&V

Berry Glop

Click here for printable version

Ingredients:
1 lb fresh or frozen berries
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup self-rising flour
1 cup 2% or whole milk
Cooking spray
 
Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
Generously spray an 8×8 casserole dish with cooking spray.
Spread berries evenly in dish.
In a separate bowl, stir together sugar and flour.
Making a well in center of dry ingredients, pour in milk. Whisk mixture just until blended.
Pour batter directly over berries, evenly distributing over entire dish.
Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.
This entry was published on June 13, 2010 at 4:19 pm and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Lazy Man’s Berry Glop

  1. MommytoThree on said:

    This is basically my recipe, too, but I love a crunchy outer crust, so I preheat the oven and melt a stick of butter in the casserole (instead of baking spray)…. then throw the berries in and pour the barely stirred mixture on top. Is sooooooo yummy!! I have to admit that my FAVORITE is strawberry!! If you have never tried it….. lemme just ell you….. 🙂

  2. Julie on said:

    Looks delish. Im gonna try it. By the way your email address is hysterical. Thats what caught my eye on Pioneer Woman…..So do you like Vodka? And is so, with what?

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I do love vodka…my favorite cocktail is grapefruit flavored vodka and club soda, or vodka with grapefruit juice. When it’s hot like this, it’s just so refreshing.

      • Julie on said:

        Okay sounds yummy…gonna try it. Super hot here too.. Central California. 100..YIKES

  3. Yum! (not Yummo, though. I know how you feel about that.) It looks delicious and super easy! This is something I could make 🙂
    ~Kandi
    http://kandilandblog.blogspot.com

  4. Looks wonderful! And easy. Easy is good. Very good.

Leave a Reply

