BBQ a la Mostaza

Love Bar-B-Que? Love Mustard? Then you’ll love this BBQ a la Mostaza.

There’s probably nothing hispanic about this sauce, but it just sounded fancy. So go with it, okay?

First things first…I try to avoid my back-splash in all of my photographs. I guess I wasn’t paying attention when I shot this one and I got a lot of the hideous painting behind my stove. I have done everything to remove the hand-painted fruit from these tiles and nothing seems to work. So until I can afford a kitchen make-over, I guess I am stuck with it. I was able to remove the tomatoes with the eggplant beneath it that looked too phallic for me to tolerate. But the peaches that look just like butts are still present as noted in the photo above.

And no, I am not responsible for this ugly painting. We bought the house a few months ago despite the dirty fruit mural in my kitchen.

So anyhoo, back to the recipe…ingredients are simple. You just mix all of the following in a saucepan:

1 cup yellow mustard

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion salt

1/4 cup worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 Tbsp vegetable or canola oil

Just mix everything in a saucepan and heat on medium-low heat for 10-15 minutes. You just want everything to blend together and thicken slightly.

The sauce is a really pretty color and smells great. The way my dad used to test his BBQ sauce to see if it was good – he would sniff the steam – if it curled his nose hairs, the sauce was flavored properly. This will for sure curl your nose hairs!

I will preface this by saying that the photos in this post are not my best work, but the recipe is really good, so just over-look my poor photography.

See? bad photo…I promise it wasn’t a fly. The sauce just got good at gloppy on the grill I guess. We made a porkloin this time, but the sauce is equally delicious on chicken or pork chops, and we even like it on halibut.

Continuously baste the meat with the sauce as you grill. The sauce gets thicker and stickier as it cooks. But it stays tangy and zesty.

Let me know if you try it! It’s a great alternative to traditional BBQ sauce and it’s always fun to try something new.

Printable recipe

Unrelated topic…I still haven’t completed the dresser. We had storms off and on yesterday so I couldn’t pull everything out to paint. I won’t get it done today either because I’m headed to a girlfriend’s house to swim and hang out with her kids. Maybe SOMEDAY I’ll get it done!?

L&V

This entry was published on June 16, 2010 at 11:00 am and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “BBQ a la Mostaza

  1. Janice on said:

    Hey Alex! The sauce looks great, thanks for sharing. I’m going to try it on chicken tomorrow evening. I’ll trade you the hand-painted fruit tile in your kitchen for the non-working wood stove [complete w/ brick tile covering the floor & wall around it] that “came with” our living room any day!:) Have a fun day!

  2. Barbara Brown on said:

    The sauce looks great. This is a must try. So far everything that you have cooked looks great. As for those tiles. I really like them, it gives that homey look. If my name had’nt been on this post. I would have said I’ll have you know I painted those tiles, and to think you don’t like them crushes me. But you would have knew that it was me. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

