Blondie, not just brownie

I’m rockin’ it old school today. I’m bringing the ’80’s back through food. Watch out tater tots, I’m coming for you. Tang…do they still sell Tang? Puddin’ pops? Tab? Who’s with me?

I’m serious about ’80’s food. I made meatloaf this week, that is oh so ‘Alf’-licious. And I made tots with a burger last night, how ‘Silver Spoons’ good! I’m getting all ‘The of Facts of Life’ on my dinner plate this week. Man I LOVED ’80’s TV!

So I decided I would share the ultimate ’80’s dessert…The Blondie. Remember how every chain restaurant between the skating rink and the mall sold Blondies on their dessert list? Some with chocolate chips, some used butterscotch chips…but they all had that squishy middle and thick crunchy edge. Mmmmm.

I’m going with chocolate chips in my fat free version of the Blondie. (It is fat free if I eat it after 8pm, right? No? Hmmm…) Please disregard the fat free reference, legal has advised me that we can not control what time this blondie will be eaten, therefore we cannot utilize the past 8pm fat free rule. Sorry for any confusion.

Butter, mmmm melted butter. This recipe calls for 1 stick of butter, which is then mixed with 1 cup brown sugar.

Yay for butter and brown sugar. Mix these two ingredients together well before adding anything else. This will ensure the blondie will be moist and tender and buttery and sugary and fat free. Oh…oops, legal has asked that I not mention fat free, sorry.

I can’t remember where this recipe came from, I found it scribbled on a piece of notebook paper and stuck in an old cookbook. But I’ve written the following, “Add an ingredient, then stir, add another ingredient, repeat.” How absolutely detailed. So, let’s do that… Add 1 teaspoon vanilla, then stir. Add an egg, then stir.

Add 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. Then stir? Oh I’m such a rule breaker…I didn’t stir…

Add 1/8 teaspoon baking soda. And guess what…I’m was still a rule breaker. I didn’t stir it after adding the baking soda either.

I mean, in 1987 I was 13 years old, you think I would follow the rules back then? HECK NO. I’m a rebel, a recipe rule breaker!

Then, like it didn’t even matter, like I know exactly how much a “pinch” of salt is…I just threw this in the bowl. I just tossed it in.

And then I mixed it all together.

1 cup flour…and stir.

1/3 cup of chips, I prefer chocolate chip but butterscotch would be good too. You can toss them with just a pinch of flour in a baggie to coat all the chips. This keeps the chips suspended in the dough, and helps them hold their shape while baking. After tossing with flour, fold the chips into the batter.

I like cooking spray, don’t get me wrong…but for this, please use butter to grease your dish. I used an 8″ round pan because it’s the only stoneware pan I have to suit this recipe, and you know how I love my stoneware. But you can use metal or glass as well, the butter will keep the edges crunchy and of course keep it from sticking. And did I mention that it’s fat free after 8pm? Bzzzzzz…. excuse me, that’s legal calling…

Load the batter into your buttered dish, then bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes. It’s done when the center is set (meaning it isn’t too wiggly when you shake the pan).

Cool Blondie in the pan for 10 minutes. Then run a knife around the edge to loosen, and continue cooling on a rack.

Now, lay on the floor in your bedroom, call your BFF on the phone, put your feet up on your bed, turn that Wham song up on your boom box, drink a can of Tab while you eat this Blondie. This will provide the full ’80’s effect for such a rad dessert. Enjoy!

Blondie

Printable version

1/2 cup butter, melted

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg, slightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

pinch salt

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 chocolate chips (lightly dusted with flour)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Butter 8×8″ baking dish.

Adding 1 ingredient at a time, mix after each addition until all ingredients have been added.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until center is set.

This entry was published on June 18, 2010 at 10:12 am and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Blondie, not just brownie

  1. Janice on said:

    It was just going to be a quick read-through of favorite blogs to take a break from yard sale prep. That short break will now be lengthened by the amount of time it takes to make our very own Blondies. Thank You & at our house they are fat free since they will consumed after 8 AM.:) Have a great day!

  2. Julie on said:

    Looks very yummy. Will have to try the recipe….and do exactly what you said…lay on the floor put my feet up and call my BFF…ummmm

  3. Kayla on said:

    Yes, they do still sell Tang. My hubby brought a gigundo canister home from Costco recently – amazing how something that you haven’t drank….or is it drunk….in over 20 years, can bring back the memories!!!! My kids don’t get any of the astronaut references we keep making either!!!

    • They don’t get the astronaut reference? ARGH I’m so old. I was with my girlfriend’s kids this week…we were playing a pool game called categories. We had done cookies, Nickelodeon cartoons, favorite fast food…I said, “how about your favorite Jolly Rancher flavors?” They looked at me like I had 3 heads…”What’s a Jolly who?” I’m so old.

  4. Mary on said:

    Well, I believe that blondies should be made with chocolate chips AND butterscotch chips! Yummy! And they’re perfect served with the suicide drink mix from the roller rink, along with a side ponytail and braces… The “Jolly Who?” comment made me feel old, too. Arghhh.

  5. Barbara Brown on said:

    The Blondies look good, I’ll have to try them. I’m sure Billy will love them.

  6. Susan Prscott on said:

    I am copying this recipe for blondies – one of my favorites! Especially served warm with vanilla ice cream like we used to get at Ruby Tuesdays! Yummy, yummy, yummy! I have a girlfriend who loves it too so I think I’ll make some and call her to come over and share! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

