Thai, Thai, Thai!!!

I have something that I need to explain to you… it’s really serious. I didn’t even know that I had the strength to overcome adversity of this magnitude.

I moved to a small town in the North Georgia Mountains, a town where there are NO Thai restaurants. I am an admitted Thai cuisine addict, to live in a town with no available Thai food is like taking away your coffee in the mornings, or removing Diet Coke from all the grocery stores in your area. It is horrible, tragic even. And I have mourned the loss of weekly Thai cuisine for months.

Then….the stars aligned and a bright light guided me towards a Thai restaurant only 45 minutes away. Yay!!! I picked up take-out two weeks ago to try out their food. It was pretty good. So I called my Aunt Pat to see if she would like to try Thai food with me. Having never eaten Thai, she was not aware of the addictive nature of this food, so she willingly agreed to assist me in feeding my addiction. And she brought along with her my uncle and cousin.

This is where we began – Coconut Milk Soup served in a flaming urn. How can you go wrong with soup that’s on fire???

Coconut milk soup with chicken and mushrooms. This soup is difficult to describe…it’s a tiny bit tart, perhaps from the lemongrass. At the same time it is also sweet, from the coconut milk. The soup is a little spicy too, but milky which sort of sets off the spice. There are so many things happening all at once in the flavors of this soup that it is difficult to explain, but one word sums it up – ADDICTIVE.

We decided to order several different dishes so everyone could try a bit of everything. This is the Garlic & Black Pepper Chicken. It was slightly sweet, the chicken was very tender with a ton of flavor. I could probably bathe in this sauce, I’m sure it would make my skin glow…

For me, this is the iconic Thai cuisine – Pad Thai Noodles. Who doesn’t love Pad Thai? It’s sweet and crunchy and tangy and delicious.

But this… this is where my addiction lies. This is what I dream of at night. This is what I drive almost an hour to enjoy. This is Panang Chicken. It has a rich curry flavor, sweetened by coconut milk. I like it very spicy with a lot of Thai chili.

My mouth is watering. I love this dish served over white rice. The rice becomes drenched with the sauce.

Did I mention that I drove 45 minutes to eat this dish? I would drive twice that far if I had to, but I would love it if someone would open a Thai restaurant in my town. Seriously, don’t we have enough places to get wings? Enough burger joints? There’s like 5 BBQ huts and only 1 of them is good. Why not concentrate on something different instead of a bunch of mediocre sameness? I’m just sayin…

Ahhhh…the finale, Fried Bananas with Coconut Ice cream. Now, I’m not one to try to persuade others to do as I do…but please, I beg of you, if you have a Thai restaurant near you…you MUST try the fried bananas and coconut ice cream. It’s a relatively simple dish, but oh the deliciousness. You just must try it, you will thank me. Then you can email me and tell me how good it was, and I will again get in my car and drive 45 minutes to my nearest Thai restaurant for my fix of spice and sweet and tangy foods.

Thank you so much to my aunt and uncle for dinner last night, it was fun and delicious!

Say it with me now, Thai, Thai, Thai!!!!!!!

L&V

This entry was published on June 25, 2010 at 11:16 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Thai, Thai, Thai!!!

  1. Pat Luther on said:

    Thank you for introducing us to something we had never tried before. The food was delicious and of course the company was, as usual, very entertaining and much loved.

  2. Carla on said:

    I too, am a huge fan of Thai, but am sad to say that I have never had a dessert from a Thai restaurant. The fried bananas and coconut ice cream sound awesome. I think that you need to meet me for lunch when you get back from DC. There is a great place pretty close to my work. It will be more than a 45 minute drive for you, but hopefully my company on top of the Thai will make it worth the trip. 🙂 Carla

  3. Come on back down to South Ga…there’s not a Thai place within an hour of where I live…

Leave a Reply

