I Dig Digi

I love digital photography.

Can you guess why?

Because I don’t have to pay money to develop the ridiculous photos that I take.

The one above…a soda that we had in the Natural History Museum in DC. I had to take a photo because it was a $5 soda! It was seriously the best soda I EVER had, we were so tired and thirsty by the time we finally took a break that we definitely drank our money’s worth.

This image…

It’s the ceiling of an elevator. I thought it looked kinda cool, so I took a photo. But if I had to pay to develop this image, well, I would have thought twice about taking the photo in the first place.

I don’t know where I would ever use this image, but it’s kinda cool.

With digital photos you can play with the image until it looks really cool. I actually dig this old bridge, I could totally enjoy this photo on a wall somewhere. We took this from the boat on a tour of Georgetown.

And then I took photos of all the taxidermy animals at the Natural History Museum. Seriously, I’m disturbed by all of these photos. I don’t understand why I took so many of these photos…I have no plans to print these to put them on our walls. I don’t know what I would do with photos of dead animals, it’s kinda sick. I think I just went photo crazy because it was the first place we went.

In the Hall of Gems I loved this crystal ball. It’s sparkly, shiny, fancy…but my photo doesn’t do it justice. Once again…so happy I didn’t have to pay to print a photo that I’m disappointed with. But it still brings me happy memories.

I was very pleased with this image though… it’s a pop-up book. In the American History Museum there are so many unique and wonderful exhibits. One of which was solely concentrated on pop-up books, it was so fun! I totally love this picture, the cheerful expressions on the animals faces, the muted coloring, it is joyful to me.

In the entry hall of the American History Museum stands this amazing piece of art. It is inspired by Old Glory, and it is grand. Amazing in fact.

Given that today is Independence Day, I think this is the appropriate place to end this post. My husband and I have had a great week visiting family and being tourists in our Nation’s Capital. I hope all of you have had a Happy 4th of July! I am looking forward to getting back to my regular posts here, so be sure to visit often.

L&V

This entry was published on July 4, 2010 at 8:37 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “I Dig Digi

  1. bigsack22 on said:

    nice and beautifull pictures

  2. Love all of your photos! Thanks for sharing them!

  3. linda esther on said:

    Love the happy lizard in the pop-up book!

  4. Alecia on said:

    The bridge at Georgetown is awesome . . . . it belongs on a wall. Of course, that’s only MY opinion!

  5. I LOVE these photos! And you are right about paying for a film shot. AND, you might eventually use these pics in a collage or digi-art project or whatever. I love photographing random stuff. Especially macro (which I am still learning). I found you on PW site and she has me all re-interested in photography – again.
    Ellen

    • PW was my inspiration to learn about photography too. Some days, when I can take my time, I do alright. But I still stink at trying to rapidly take photos… Hopefully I’ll get better!
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

