Roasted fig & rosemary spread

Have you ever eaten a fig?

Describing the taste of a fig is sort of difficult. It’s sweet, but not too syrupy sweet. The texture is really hard to explain. The outside is something like a nectarine, but the inside is more like kiwi. You eat the skin and the insides, just like an apple.

This photo shows the figs cut in half. They look sorta slimy, which I guess they are a little.

I wonder who, in the past, went from one kind of bush to another to determine what is edible and what is not. I can’t imagine looking at a fig and thinking that I should try eating it. Blueberries, blackberries, who was the guinea pig to determine if they were poisonous or not?

I know, I’m weird…but I wonder.

Back to our fig spread. Making this is so simple, and you can replicate this recipe with other fruits like peaches or plums.

Just cut the fruit into halves and place them on a well-greased baking sheet.

Then I like a bit of balsamic vinegar, 4 tablespoons, to add a good bit of flavor. Along with a pinch of salt and 2 tablespoons of chopped rosemary.

That’s it! Just throw it in a 425 degree oven for 20-30 minutes. Until they start to caramelize.

They’ll look like this. A bit mushy, caramelized and they smell fantastic.

The final step…dump all of the figs and all of the juice that has roasted out of the figs, into a food processor. Add 1/4 cup of sugar and puree.

There’s something therapeutic about the whirl of a food processor. It simplifies things so considerably that it almost feels like cheating.

But when you taste this you will agree that cheating isn’t the worst thing you can do in the kitchen. Besides…cheating to me is opening up a jar! (Although I’m not above doing that either). This is still homemade, and it tastes like you spent a long time making it.

My favorite is combining the spread with goat cheese on a cracker. But it is also good on a peanut butter sandwich, or just spread on a Triscuit.

My goal in life (besides being a guest on Paula Deen’s cooking show) is to develop recipes that make me look like a superstar, but only require minimal effort. This one for sure fits the bill.

Now, go get some peaches, figs, plums and try this. (I made this with peaches and mint and it was delicious as a salad dressing).

L&V

Roasted fig & rosemary spread

Printable version

12 figs, washed, stemmed and halved

cooking spray

4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoons rosemary

pinch of salt

1/4 cup sugar

Place halved figs on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Figs should be cut side up.

Pour balsamic vinegar over each fig, followed by olive oil.

Sprinkle with a pinch of salt and evenly distribute rosemary across all fruit.

Roast at 425 degrees until figs are caramelized.

Allow figs to cool slightly, then pour figs and all pan juices into a food processor.

Add sugar and puree to desired consistency.

Serve with crackers and goat cheese.

This entry was published on July 20, 2010 at 12:26 pm and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Roasted fig & rosemary spread

  1. Pat Luther on said:

    My Grandmother (my Dad’s mother) had a huge fig bush/tree in her yard and every year she would make the most fabulous fig preserves from the figs we kids or the birds did not eat. I went by their old yard (the house is now gone) on the way to the cementery last week to bury my last aunt, and guess what??? That fig bush/tree is still there and bigger than ever! Had I been driving my self instead of riding with a cousin I would have stopped to see if there were any figs.

  2. Hi there! I just discovered your blog today and I love it. This recipe looks amazing! I am a lover of food, especially figs, and when paired with cheese – pure bliss. This is a great blog – will definitely be returning.

Leave a Reply

