40 Teenagers at a pool party

That’s right, you read correct… 40 teenagers at a pool party!

My girlfriend solicited our attendance at a party she volunteered to host for her daughter’s cheer squad and corresponding football team.

They’re in 8th grade.

That makes them roughly 13 years old.

I’m not used to teenagers! I was nervous.

Photos? HECK NO there’s no photos. I was a nervous wreck, I didn’t have the where-with-all to take photos. Boys were rough-housing, girls were giggling, boys were throwing footballs and tennis balls and other boys, and did I mention girls were giggling?

My girlfriend laughed at me as I pointed out boys doing flips into the pool.

“Um, is that okay? They’re gonna crack their heads!”

“Alex, calm down. This is what 13-year-old boys do.”

Meanwhile, there were suddenly no girls in sight. Where are 20 13-year-old-girls during a pool party? They’re hanging out in the girl’s bathroom.

Like duh! Where’d ya think they were???

Then they all got in the pool and existed on opposite ends of the pool. Boys vs. Girls. Then one by one they began to migrate, they actually spoke to one another.

Well…boys spoke, girls giggled. And screamed when boys splashed them.

This makes boys splash more, in case you didn’t know.

I sat on the sidelines gnawing my nails off and waiting for the right time to jump up, run to the edge of the pool and scream, “CHILDREN, CHILDREN!!! No running around the pool. No jumping on each other’s heads! No flipping double back-flips into the pool. No more throwing tennis balls as hard as possible at one another. And no more giggling!”

But alas….this moment never presented itself, so I sat quietly in my seat like all the other adults. The kids were all very well-behaved and everyone had a grand time. I’m sure it’s the very best 8th grade cheer/football pool party, like EVER!

And my husband snuck in a beer in a plastic cup, and didn’t tell me until everyone left. Um, hello, I coulda used one of those! He was scared I’d make him throw it out.

Sigh.

The worst part to admit…he’s probably right. I would have made him get rid of it. I’m so old.

L&V

This entry was published on August 6, 2010 at 11:49 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “40 Teenagers at a pool party

  1. Thomas on said:

    The beer was much needed. It’s pretty sad that 2 men in their mid 30s have to sneek it in. If it wasn’t for plastic cups and empty coke cans it would have been the longest night of my life. Thanks for coming and a special thanks to your hubby.

    • I have turned into a curmudgeon in my old age. When did that happen??? I used to be so cool!

      No…I wasn’t ever cool. I’ve always been a rule follower. That’s why your wife is my friend, she taught me the value of breaking the rules from time to time. And that’s why I married J, he constantly reminds me that breaking the rules doesn’t always end in disaster. I’m glad that y’all had fun! I joke about being nervous, but I really did love seeing all the kids playing, we both had a great time.

  2. you are such a nervous nellie….the kids all had fun….no one was hurt….no one was making out….the party was a huge success…..fun had by all….just think this is what you have to look forward to when you have teenagers!!!

    • I admit it, I was a nervous nellie. I can’t help it. I don’t have kids yet, the most kids I’ve ever been around were 10 little girls at a spend the night party, and they were asleep by 10pm. 40 teenagers, I had no idea what to expect. And within seconds they were doing flips! I felt like they were “children”…it took me an hour to realize that at 13 they kind of have a sense of themselves and their own safety. Sort of. A little bit. I calmed down. Sort of. A little bit.

  3. Ha! To be a teen again!
    I can’t believe you volunteered for this…you brave girl, you! 😉

Leave a Reply

