Trusty ol’ shoes

I don’t know about you, but when I see my gym shoes I just take a deep breath and mentally prepare myself for the fact that it’s just gotta be done.

I joined a gym earlier this week. I tried to convince myself that I’d swim all summer, I don’t need to go to the gym. Then I said I’d walk Nash the big dog every day, I don’t need a gym. (Little did I know that he HATES the hot weather more than I do. I can barely get him to go outside twice a day just to do his business).

But finally I’ve puffed up enough that I’m self-conscious and need to get in a decent work out a few times each week.

And honestly, I miss the social interaction of the gym. Back in 2008 I was living and working in Nashville. My husband was deployed for 15 months to Iraq. I had plenty of friends and socialization while I was at the office, but when I headed home it was so quiet. I just missed my husband so much, I knew I needed to entertain myself. So I decided that the gym was the right place to keep myself busy. It had a great side-effect, I looked great when he returned home!

If any of you are runners, you probably recognize these shoes – circa 2004. You know how I keep them in such great shape? Yeah, I don’t run in them! Ha.

I don’t run.

I don’t hop.

And I wash them in the washing machine occasionally to keep them looking good.

I know I need new gym shoes, but these are so comfy. I buy new shoes for tennis regularly, but my gym shoes are just used on a treadmill, they don’t really wear out. It drives my husband nuts, he is convinced that I’m going to die or something from wearing old gym shoes.

So far, I’ve survived in my trusty ol’ shoes. I plan to use them yet again in this gym-going phase of my life.

And maybe my food photos will have more veggies and less sugar. (Or maybe not).

I mean, I’m going to the gym so that I CAN eat sugar right??? Oh sigh. Okay, limited sugar. Limited carbs. And limited days that I’m in a good mood.

L&V

This entry was published on August 12, 2010 at 10:35 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Trusty ol’ shoes

  1. You can do it!
    2008 was my best bod summer in recent years too…hmmm
    Veggies are pretty too, but I prefer to eat the sugar.

    hang in there…I’m a WW and they always say “Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels”.
    Or something like that.
    Ellen

Leave a Reply

