How to portray Laundry & Vodka…

We’ve all become familiar with this image by now. It may not be totally clear at first glance what is being portrayed here, but once you see the site name, put 2 and 2 together, and maybe you get it.

Or maybe not?

I tried to find a photo that suggested the name of my site, but was still interesting.

This was another attempt…you’ll notice I was totally into saturation at the time of this photo shoot.

The problem with this – when you cut off the top and bottom for the banner size, you can’t tell at all what’s going on. But if I got further back to include more of the bottles and glass, it gets weird.

But we need a new look. “We” being the blog and me. Well I guess “we” is really the blog, Nash, Nigel and me. I mean, the dogs are as much a part of this as I am.

But I think having the dogs drink vodka for a photo is a very bad idea. Funny? Maybe. Bad doggy parenting? Definitely. So I can’t do that.

Do you have any other ideas of how I can portray Laundry and Vodka in a photo? I’m open to suggestion… As long as no animals are harmed. Or no photos of me are included, in case you’re new to this site you must know that nothing makes me more apprehensive than having my photo taken. I am horribly non-photogenic.

I mean, trust me, I look gorgeous in person. Photos put like 50 pounds on me, and makes my face look like a pasty grimace.

Okay…so how do I update this ol’ blog o’ mine???

L&V

This entry was published on September 28, 2010 at 10:28 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “How to portray Laundry & Vodka…

  1. I’m laughing out loud right now…what do you mean it’s bad doggy parenting to photograph the dogs drinking vodka? Dogs need to unwind sometimes, too… 😉

    Oh my word, between your post and mine from yesterday we’re going to be giving people all the wrong ideas about us!!! 🙂

    I’m going to have to brainstorm this one for awhile and see what I can come up with. Have a good one!!!

    http://www.kandilandblog.blogspot.com

  2. Hmmmm…it is the cropping of the header that creates such a problem when trying to find that perfect photo. I actually like your header now, but I understand you wanting to change it up. I need to do the same. Good luck!

  3. you should put all the components into a colorful laundry basket and take a top view shot….a stack of folded clothes, detergent, fabric softener, bottle of vodka, and cosmo glass….that’s about all i can come up with….but then again, i am not the creative genius that you are ms. marketing and advertising lol

  4. How about instead of trying to show the “pretty” side of laundry, you show the dirty side? A laundry basket full of your dirties (or pretend dirties) the the bottle/glass perched on top – or in front of it?!? Maybe Nash and Nigel could be laying next to the basket….well, maybe that is a lot to include in one banner picture….I don ‘t know. Wait for Kandi – she always has lots of good ideas….or ask our sister, Karen, on her site…she is definitely an “idea girl”.

    http://www.shutthefridge.blogspot.com

  5. I love the bright colors of the current header. But what if you did bubbles, a lot of soap bubbles with the soap box, vodka and glass off to one side of the picture. Or even the martini glass tipped over in one corner with the bubbles coming out of it leading to the other corner where the vodka and detergent are. Then when you crop it could be of the vodka and bubbles or the bottles on the other side.
    Now I really need to work on the look of mine. 🙂

  6. How about a laundry basket full of folded, colorful towels with a bottle of vodka nestled in the top? You could use the rest of the bar to put “Laundry & Vodka” with a second smaller line beneath explaining why you call it that.

Leave a Reply

