Easy Morning Muffins

Cooler weather means that I am about to change up my cooking routines. In the summer I’m all about salads (okay I’m not ALL about a salad), but we grill a lot and do mostly quick-cook meals.

In the fall and winter I love to make stews and soups and roasted meats and vegetables. Oh how I love to cook this time of year. I love it when my kitchen floor is cold, but the oven is pumping out heat and the dogs are bundled up by the heater vent while I’m preparing our meals.

And one other thing that changes for me is my appetite. In the summer I have no desire to eat breakfast, and if I do a piece of toast will do just fine. But for some reason, when it’s cold, I want something warm in my tummy.

My mom, sister and I all fell in love with a recipe from my mom’s best friend Ann. It was filled with wholesome fiber and fresh buttermilk, we all love those muffins. But I happened upon this quick-fix packaged muffin mix that tastes so similarly to those delicious muffins that I make them quite often for myself. (Now, if I have company I’ll whip up the homemade recipe…but just for myself I’m a little lazy…and a little cheap).

This is a Martha White packaged muffin mix that cost $.76 at the ol’ Wally World. All it calls for is 2/3 milk. Mix and bake.

Of course I can’t just bake plain, boring muffins like that. That would be so sad. No no no…

I’m an adventurer. I’m exciting. I don’t do boring! (Then why Alex, are you posting about muffins? That’s not exactly a thrill a minute…) Hmph, let’s move on…

That my dears is cranberries and walnuts. Oh yum yum yum. I love cranberries, but blueberries also do well, as do chopped up frozen cherries. Walnuts are delicious, but any nuts or no nuts will be fine too. I’ve mushed up a banana and mixed it in, chopped up little chunks of apple, I’ve even been known to dump a couple of chocolate chips in the mix!

You do whatever makes you happy, and somehow, they always turn out great! I think it took me about 3 minutes to mix it all up and toss it in the oven. They cook for about 15 minutes…

And you get 6 pretty, fragrant muffins. I prefer not to use the muffin cups, I just spray the tin with cooking spray and they turn out lovely. But the muffin cups work nicely too if you want to make ’em purty.

I have to say that for under $1, these muffins are delicious.

And they are the perfect conduit for butter! (Which may negate the healthy benefits of these muffins, but um… butter is good).

If you want a quick and easy muffin that you can make in the morning before shipping the kids off to school or loading yourself up in the car for your morning commute…these are really good!

L&V

This entry was published on October 6, 2010 at 11:00 am and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Easy Morning Muffins

  1. My favorite muffin mix is the Krusteaz Oat Bran Muffin Mix. We stayed in a B&B in Ouray, Colorado years ago. Every morning, the owner served warm blueberry oat bran muffins that my daughter LOVED. On the last day, she finally shared her secret – the Krusteaz mix with fresh blueberries. It’s a very versatile mix. I add dried cherries or blueberries with toasted almonds. You can add apple chunks rolled in cinnamon. It’s also great with a mashed banana and chocolate chips. It’s more expensive than Martha White (whom I adore), but it also makes more muffins. I had a muffin last week that rocked – it was made with cinnamon chips with a struesel topping. Lovely!

    • Ooo, I’ll have to try krusteaz muffins. I love all their mixes that I’ve tried so far. My favorite (learned from a craft services cook on a photo shoot) – krusteaz pancakes with crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese. Sounds crazy, but it is AMAZING!!!
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  2. Okay, I have to do it. Really, I have to.

    YUMM-O!!!!

    Those look delicious and I love cranberries in anything. And as you’ve probably figured out, I’m not the greatest cook so a package that I can’t mess up is the perfect solution for me. I’m hoping Walmart up here in the North carries that brand. If not, I know they have Krusteaz!

  3. Yummy! and six is just enough so I don’t “over-indulge”. I love muffins with stuffins! berries, apples, wonderful.

    Will definitely try.

  4. MommytoThree on said:

    This muffin mix is what my daughter likes to “make” for breakfast – she gets to add the water and stir, which for a 3 year old is “making” the breakfast…. I always add in the goodies after she is done. I also like the triple berry mix as it is – and I use the mini muffin tins so they come out just right for the little ones 🙂

  5. Such are actually awesome YouTube video lessons, its my good fortune to go to see this web page and finding such cool YouTube videos.

Leave a Reply

