What’s for dinner?

All that talk last week about how much I love to cook when the weather cools off, how I love soups and stews and roasted veggies and meats… Yeah, you remember that? Well it was like 87 degrees yesterday. Grrrrr. Where’s my fall weather???

This confusing weather even has my Japanese Magnolia blooming again. And it has me totally stumped regarding what to buy for dinners this week.

There’s always the grilling option. And we loved grilled steaks! Well, my husband doesn’t love grilled steak, he ADORES it. So there’s one night’s plan.

But I’m stumped for the rest of the week. The dinner planning genie hasn’t appeared yet this morning to cast his spell over me that magically helps me determine a shopping list for the week. 

Instead, I thought I’d cheat and ask all of you what you’re making for dinner. What are your family’s favorite summer in October meals?

I’ll be waiting for your responses!

L&V

This entry was published on October 11, 2010 at 10:29 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “What’s for dinner?

  1. Well, I’m sure you were thinking, “I really hope Kandi posts an idea because she’s a great cook!”

    Right? Right???

    🙂 Truth be told, I forgot all about dinner until I read your post. I think I’ll thaw some ground beef and make a beef stew casserole thingy. It’s easy – potatoes, carrots, browned gr. beef, one can cream of mushroom soup and one can vegetable soup. Stir and bake in oven for 1-1.5 hours. Not sure if Southerners do casseroles or “hot dish” as we call it up here, but it’s actually quite good!

    http://www.kandilandblog.blogspot.com

  2. We love Mexican food, so I would have to suggest chicken or beef fajitas marinated in olive oil, garlic, lime juice and salt. Or a nice taco salad topped with guacamole. Or grilled shrimp quesadillas (marinate the shrimp in the same olive oil, garlic, lime juice & salt as above) then grill them, layer them inside flour tortillas with colby-jack cheese, and throw them on a griddle to crisp up on the outside. Topped with salsa and guacamole, it’s just fantastic. And easy.

    The Complete Package make a dish that’s simple and light. It’s called Pasta Delight. Boil up some pasta (just about any shape will do). While that’s boiling, slice up some zuchinni and yellow summer squash, one small onion, two cloves of garlic, and a little flat leaf parsley. Saute the vegetables in a little olive oil just until they start to soften a little (can veggies be al dente?). Then toss in some salt, the parsley, and a little fresh olive oil. Toss the veggies into the hot, drained pasta. Plate it up and sprinkle it with a little parmesan cheese, and serve it with some hot bread and cold butter. This dish is brought to you by a meat & potatoes man, so don’t let your hubby talk you out of it. It’s delish.

  3. Pat Luther on said:

    My family loves my Crockpot Chops or chicken. I cook both the same way. Dredge the meat in a little flour with salt, pepper and dry mustard. Brown in a little oil, just until crust is turning. Put in crock pot. Brown a little of the dredging mixture and use mushroom soup for the liquid to make gravy. Pour over the meat and cook covered until you are ready to eat. I usually put it on about 10 in the morning and we usually eat around 6. I have slow cooked it all night if I knew I wasn’t going to have time do prepare it in the morning. You can serve with mashed potatoes, rice or pasta. The meat will fall off of the bone (if you use bone in meat).

  4. I did tacos on Sunday (so easy) with our favorite 7-layer dip from Whole Foods 🙂 I’ve also been doing a lot of recipes from Cooking Light – chicken and rice with veggies, sausage and mushrooms with polenta. All easy – all pretty good.

Leave a Reply

