A Baby Shower

Is there anything cuter than a baby bump?

I hosted a baby shower for my girlfriend Stefanie this weekend. I had not seen her in a couple of months and was so excited to see the baby growing so much. I just had to snap a photo of that adorable bump.

I can not wait to meet little Ella! She is going to be spoiled rotten by everyone in her life.

Namely by her mother.

Stefanie has been a dear friend for years and years. We were in home-room together in 7th grade. I talked her into taking Sewing with me in high school, which she called Buttermaid class. She was HORRIBLE at sewing!!! (Sorry, but it’s just true).

And now she’s going to be a mommy.

A mommy to a little girl.

A little girl named Ella.

The Piggy Princess was my favorite thing in Ella’s nursery. The piggy is so charming and silly.

The shower went off without a glitch. I made brunch for everyone, to include Sausage and Sun-dried Tomato Frittata, Green Chile and Cheddar Grits, French Toast Souffle and of course Mimosas. Everything turned out fabulously.

Stefanie’s girlfriend brought the cake from a local bakery. I thought it turned out adorable, and appropriately girly.

Stefanie sat in the rocking chair that her mother had rocked her in as a baby while she opened her shower gifts.

She also opened a gift from her mother which was a handmade blanket that Stefanie had slept on as a baby. It was sweet and I loved watching her mother proudly watching her daughter celebrating becoming a mother herself.

I’ve said this before, it is so exciting to be a part of my friend’s lives as they evolve and mature. I have so many wonderful friends that are kind enough to allow me to be a part of these monumental moments in life. It makes me really proud to have grown up around and remained friends with so many dynamic, smart, wonderful women.

I can’t wait to meet Baby Ella.

L&V

This entry was published on November 14, 2010 at 12:53 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “A Baby Shower

  1. Love the pictures…that cake is so cute! Your friend is a beautiful mother-to-be and it looks like the shower was a great success. 🙂

  2. Stephanie looks fabulous!! Tell her congrats! Motherhood is wonderful!

    I love reading about your life, Alex. You are a gifted writer, photographer, and chef.

Leave a Reply

