There’s still time

There is still time to take a guess at what the above image may be. You have until 6pm tonight to get it right and win a tin of my homemade pecan tassies, made with my mom’s most delicious recipe.

I am starting my Thanksgiving baking today with the pecan tassies. I love holiday baking!

What are you all making for Turkey Day? I am lucky in that my aunt and uncle are hosting dinner this year, so I’m only making 3 things. One of which, my Great Aunt Marie’s Potato Rolls, will be posted as a step-by-step recipe in the next few day so you all can make it for your Christmas dinner.

I will also be making a mincemeat pie as it is my husband’s favorite. How many of you have ever eaten mincemeat? I wish it had a different name because the word “meat” in a pie just does not sound appealing. But there is no meat, it’s a spicy fruit pie. And it is delicious! You just have to trust me and try it sometime.

But what I really can’t wait for…my aunt’s macaroni & cheese, her chocolate pie, the delicious casseroles, and the company around the table. My husband is still not sure if he will be given leave for Thanksgiving, but we are really hopeful.

Where are you all going for Thanksgiving, and what are you looking forward to the most?

L&V

This entry was published on November 23, 2010 at 10:55 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “There’s still time

  1. It looks like a page from a book or some kind of paper burning on a cell phone, but I’m pretty sure that you wouldn’t have taken time to take of picture if that is the case! Did something melt on the cell phone???

    For Thanksgiving I am responsible for: Ham, mashed potatoes, mac & cheese, hashbrown casserole, green bean casserole, rolls, peanut butter pie. My brother is contributing: smoked turkey, dressing, squash casserole, sweet potato casserole, and I can’t remember what else! To snack on all weekend I made: cheese straws (of course), cashew brittle, meringues, chocolate chip cookie dough truffles, and homemade caramels! Tonight I will make party mix because of course we have to have party mix during the holidays!

    Leaving in the morning for the mountains and I can not wait! Hope that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and I hope your husband is granted his leave!

    • Holy cow, you’re cooking A LOT!!! Mmmmmmmm, cheese straws. Oh how I love em.

      Hope it’s nice weather for ya, it’s supposed to feel like winter here in Georgia sometime soon! But today it’s warm and rainy.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  2. I really want to win this! But I have no idea what the picture is! It looks like one of the dogs chewed up ….SOMETHING!!! But what? It looks like it says New York…? I don’t know!!! GAH!

  3. It is still hot here and I really wanted it to be cold there for Thanksgiving! Now I have to rethink everything I planned to pack!!

  4. i have no idea what the pic is, but you can send me pecan tassies anyway just because you love me ok???….for thanksgiving, we are frying the turkey…i also have to make homemade mac and cheese, sweet potatoe souffle, and coconut cake….have fun at aunt pat’s

  5. mommytothree on said:

    I don’t know what it is…. rather, WAS…. but I am sure it will be blatantly obvious once we see the whole image! And we will probably all laugh at ourselves for not getting it right! I am going to guess some pocket lint, a magazine article, and a cell phone screen that have all been through the washing machine. Or maybe just an abstract pretty picture of trash! 🙂

  6. iIt has little bells on it and the bottom is torn, that’s all I can gather from here.

Leave a Reply

