Good news from here forward

How did this happen?

I was so far ahead for the holidays. Over half of my gifts were purchased, my Christmas cards were selected and just waiting to be addressed, I had arranged with 2 friends to bake holiday goodies to give to neighbors and friends.

I had a few cute sweaters and jeans to get me through the holidays, I am pretty sure I even convinced my hubby to buy those boots I’ve been wanting so badly.

Suddenly, here we are, a mere 3 weeks before Christmas and I am so far behind. We had plans to visit family in West Virginia mid-month, those plans have been cancelled due to illness. Which means I need to get on the ball and wrap and ship gifts. I thought I would have all month to complete the shopping for my family, I’m a week into December and I have NOTHING to show for it except 3 empty boxes of tissue and a new-found love for Luden’s cough drops.

I have really debated if or when I should share our latest news, and I finally decided that as a blogger the whole point is to take my readers on a ride with me through my life. So… here it goes…

We’re 8 weeks pregnant. I type this with tears in my eyes because it is something that my husband and I have prayed for, worked for, and are immensely thankful for. But I should also say that we have had misfortune in the past, so we are very cautiously optimistic. And I’ve had a little complication thus far, but we are doing everything we can to address the issues and pray for a healthy pregnancy. But this little development has meant NO drugs for my horrible, terrible, awful cold that my husband gave me. (You’ll note that I will always mention who gave me this cold, because I’m very bitter about it). It has also meant a good bit of bed rest.

As for those jeans and cute sweaters? Well, my friends have told me that belly bands may get me through the holidays, but not much is zipping comfortably. And if my feet grow by a size like all my girlfriends have said they may, my brand new boots will go to waste. And that just makes me sad.

So, my blog has suffered as have my Christmas plans. So, please forgive my sporadic posts. And Karla (the winner of the pecan tassies), please forgive my delay in baking the tassies, but I have a new-found aversion to smells of anything baking, roasting, frying, boiling, microwaving, toasting, brewing… pretty much any kitchen smell at this point is not my friend. I also hate the smell of any tobacco products, perfume, cologne, dog food, candles, air sprays, etc…

I appreciate all of the support I receive from the readers of this blog, I feel like each of you is a friend. I love hearing from you and getting to know each of you. Thank you for making this blog more than just a writing assignment, it’s a letter to my friends.

I would love to hear what smells you hated most when you all were pregnant. And what foods you craved. Thus far, I crave grapefruit and ginger ale. (Why not cheesecake and filet mignon???).

I hope to post a little more regularly, but please forgive me if there’s another pause.

Here’s to only good news from here forward. Cheers.

L&V

This entry was published on December 5, 2010 at 6:54 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Good news from here forward

  1. I have no advice for the food aversions. Just dont eat anything you really, really like. I’ve got some dishes that I’m not sure I’ll ever eat again.

    After being pregnant 3 times and delivering 2 healthy babies, I wish you peace. People say children are a blessing, and they really are. But for some of us, it’s getting pregnant and staying pregnant that’s the miracle.

  2. I’m so excited for you! Congratulations. I wish you the very, very best for a safe, healthy, full-term pregnancy. I’m so sorry you had to deal with a horrible cold, as well. Hope you’re feeling much better now. As for smells, I still smell milk before I drink it, even if it is brand new and dated for weeks to come. When I was 8 1/2 months pregnant with My Baby, I was craving a glass of milk so I chugged one as soon as I got home from the store – only to discover after about 3-4 gulps that it was curdled. I had a cold at the time, too, so I couldn’t smell it. It was so horrible, I still smell milk before every glass, 27 years later. And I ate guacamole, chocolate Malt-O-Meal, and Hagen Daas chocolate-chocolate chip ice cream like it was about to be discontinued for all eternity when I was knocked up. Couldn’t get enough of it. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures to come. Thanks for sharing it all with us. Best wishes!!

  3. SO happy for you! You and your baby will be in my prayers – what a wonderful blessing and thank you for sharing it with us!! As for the smells…when I was pregnant, I could not look at or smell raw meat, so my hubby had to cook the ground beef whenever we had tacos. Blech. Hope your cold goes away soon! 🙂

  4. Meghan on said:

    I am so happy to hear about your pregnancy! I have only one child who is now 13 years old but oh how I remember how certain smells totally grossed me out. Popcorn popping and chicken cooking on the grill were the worst! I unfortunately had morning, noon and night sickness for the first five months. I ate very ODD items-White Castle hamburgers and onion chips, Arbys hot ham and cheddar sandwiches and hotdogs from Dairy Queen! Great nutrition, huh? Not that I would ever suggest this for a good prenatal diet-but I did what I had to do! My beautiful boy was 10 pounds 1 ounce when he was born!!! Best of everything to you! Love your blog!

  5. Oh….I am so excited for you. I understand your trepidation as I have had losses too…Prayers are heading your way. Oh, I just got goose bumps when I read your news! So happy!!!

    Okay, food aversions, etc. I could not walk down the coffee aisle at the grocery store…you know the ones where you can pick your fancy beans and then grind them there in the store….gag, gag, gag….throw up a little in my mouth….too much info, I know….but just thinking about it now brings it all back….and I LOVE coffee. I went through a stage my last 2 pregnancies where for the first 3 months, the only thing that didn’t make me sick were Subway sandwiches….I didn’t get them every day…but really it was the only thing that sounded good and that I could successfully eat at the beginning! I did get the extra sensitive smelling thing for everything though….everything from the good stuff….hubby’s cologne to the potatoe just starting to rot in the back of the pantry.

    Oh, I am so happy for you….have I said that enough yet for you to believe me?!?! What a wonderful reason for you not to be blogging as much!!

    http://www.shutthefridge.blogspot.com

  6. We’re praying for y’all every day! I know how hard this journey has been for y’all, and if anyone deserves a beautiful, healthy baby, it’s you and J!!!

    The smell of milk, raw meat, peppermint, cigarette smoke and old spice deodorant all did me in! And I gagged any time I tried to eat anything mushy and brushing my teeth was an hour long event when I was pregnant with G!!! I STILL can’t handle the smell of some Avon bath products!!!

    The only things that helped my all-day-sickness were ginger ale, caffeine-free coke, ginger candy and (yes, gross, but the nurses at my OB told me to try it) the heavy syrup from a can of peaches!

    And the cravings!!! I wanted Franklin’s turnip greens (they closed that year, BTW), Olive Garden salad and McD’s filet o’ fish (but those made me sick after I ate them).

    Hang in there, love! I can’t wait to spoil that baby! I hope your cold goes away, and stock up on belly bands – they rock!

    Love you!

  7. Oh Wow! How happy I am for both you and your husband…who not only gave you a cold but a bun in the oven, too!

    Don’t worry one little bit about the pecan tassies, ok? Stay out of the kitchen and off of your feet.

    I couldn’t stomach Chinese food during my pregnancy and it took me 3 years to finally get the nerve to try it again. I craved Mexican food and I was living in Alaska at the time and good Mexican food up there is VERY hard to find! I also craved pineapple and wound up spending $15 for 2 pineapples and ate them up in one day! Funny thing- my daughter, Claire, LOVES Pineapple and Mexican food! haha

    Best wishes to you, your husband and the little one on its way.

  8. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    What wonderful news! Hope your journey goes smoothly, I’m sending good vibes your way!
    I had very few cravings with both of my pregnancies, but with both of them I craved grapes and radishes! Not bad for the waist line, but how weird! I couldn’t stand looking at any raw meat, or the smell of coffee brewing either.
    Hope you start feeling well soon, get lots of rest! Do some deep breathing, and think pretty pink and blue thoughts!! 🙂

  9. Congratulations! I am so excited for you. I remember when I first found out I was pregnant.. It seems like yesterday but now a little over two years ago! How time flies. I can honestly say that smells never seemed to bother me. Instead of morning sickness, I had afternoon and evening sickness and seemed to get sick everytime I ate pizza, Chinese, or Mexican food. To this day, I cannot eat Chinese food. Sickness for the first 9 weeks? HA! Try the whole nine months and still getting sick in the delivery room! One might think that with how sick I was throughout pregnancy that I would gain next to nothing. Um, wrong! Try gaining over 50 lbs and not losing any of it! I breastfed and everything and the weight never came off. I just gave away all of my 8 and 10 size jeans as I will probably never get in them again! But I have the most adorable, loving little boy in the whole wide world who has rocked my world since the moment he latched on to me. I wish nothing but the best for you and your husband during this pregnancy! (BTW, Ihave a great book for husbands and how they should spoil you during pregnancy) I’ll have to look up the name of the book when I get off work and send it your way!

  10. Alex, Congratulations! So happy for you. Hope to hear more about this great journey.

  11. I am sending all my prayers your way for a healthy pregnancy. I have been where you are and know how you are feeling. It is soooooo hard but happy too. I’ll be praying for you girl!!
    I have one daughter and with her I craved KFC, hot dogs and pancakes. (thankfully not all together, haha) Cooking got to me at different times too, but it passes. Then you’ll be wishing you could stop cooking and eating stuff, heehee!

Leave a Reply

