New Year’s Resolutions

I’m not a big believer in making promises to myself or others simply because it’s January 1st.

But I’m making an exception this year, because there are a few things that I need to change in 2011. And several of these things relate directly to this blog… So here’s my list of New Year’s Resolutions that I will attempt to live by this year.

1. Blog daily. I have gotten slack these past few weeks thanks to the excuse of nausea and fatigue. But no more excuses, my blog needs me! My brain needs the creative outlet. And you guys need to hear from me (right? right?).

2. Photograph “something” every day. Again, I’ve been so slack. There are so many pretty things that I look at daily and think, “I wish I had my camera”. HELLO ALEX, just keep your camera with you!!! Okay, I’m gonna try to do this.

3. Watch more intelligent television. As I sit here watching ‘Cops’, following a day of ‘Dog the Bounty Hunter’ marathon, which was temporarily interrupted with a few episodes of ‘Jerseylicious’…I’ve realized that my mind may actually melt if I don’t start watching the Biography Channel and History a bit more often.

4. My fourth and final resolution for 2011 is to read more frequently. And I don’t mean just my daily dose of my favorite blogs. Nor do I mean my favorite magazines (I do read more than just Us Weekly I’d like you to know). Bon Appetite is my favorite, I love Food & Wine too. But Us is my guilty pleasure. But I need to read more books, I’ve just gotten away from books this past year for some reason. I love to read, I NEED to read, seriously I plan to replace Jerseylicious with a good book. (That is totally a lie, nothing replaces Jerseylicious!)

So what are a few of your resolutions this year? Have you implemented any of them yet?

I hope all of you have had a wonderful holiday, and are all looking forward to a fantastic New Year!

Happy 2011.

L&V

This entry was published on January 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. They all sound like good resolutions to me!
    I really haven’t made any official resolutions. I do need to get back in my habit of a 30 minute walk every morning. (Several issues have put that on the back burner the past few weeks: sickness, a trip, snow and ice….)
    Happy New Year!
    Dianna
    http://www.thesedaysofmine.com

  2. Oooh, those are all very worthy resolutions. I love reading your blog posts, so the more often you post the better for me. As far as taking pictures, well, I’m with you there, too! The only problem is running out of space on the computer for all the files I take! My main resolution this year is to be less “wound-tight” (as J.D. puts it) and more laid-back…and to tamp down my temper. Yes, I have a temper, and it ain’t pretty. I guess I’m going to try to “not sweat the small stuff.” Happy New Year, Alex!

    • Hey, Kandi! I read your comment, and had to tell you that I saw a comment on PW’s site today. Someone said they saw a bumper sticker that said “Don’t sweat the petty stuff, and don’t pet the sweaty stuff.” Your comment reminded me of it. I wish I had that saying on a t-shirt! It may just be my new motto for 2011. I don’t make resolutions, but I plan to continue my 2010 challenge to keep branching out and trying new things, and I am determined to get back on my eliptical machine while the weather’s cooler. Fingers crossed.

  3. Alex, I fully support your resolution to blog every day. I miss you when you don’t post something for a few days. I really do. And since I don’t have cable, I have to ask….what is Jerseylicious?

    • What is Jerseylicious? It’s only the trashiest, most wonderful tv show in the world! It’s Jersey hair dressers and make up artists working together in a salon. The craziness that ensues includes a girl dating the ex-boyfriend of another employee. The owner and a partner getting into cussing arguments in front of the entire staff. And don’t forget all of the animal print clothing and 4″ long fingernails. It is awesome!!! I mean, it’s mindless nonsense. And I love it!
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

      • I’m guessing it’s wildly entertaining, then! I don’t get the whole Jersey Shore thing, either, but then I don’t have cable so I can’t say that I’ve ever seen an episode. Just what I glean from talk shows, etc. 4″ fingernails? Who can cut hair or apply makeup with 4″ fingernails! I can’t even type when mine get past the edge of my fingers. Oh, and I watched about 5 mins of the Rose Bowl parade – just enough to see the float that weighed 85,000 pounds because it was pulling a swimming pool with DOGS DIVING FOR DISTANCE! I immediately thought of Nash. It was totally awesome. Give your pooches some smooches for me.

  4. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    Ha ha Jerseyliscious! Your resolutions are great, I never make them, but this year I decided to…………… read your daily blog (!) walk, walk, walk, and listen to more music instead of watching the aforementioned program!

  5. I always end up breaking my resolutions the day after I make them but here it goes! 1) lose weight. Well, one can’t start a diet on a Saturday; So, day one starts today. (So far so good. Granted, it is only 9:30am, but hey, I’ve only used 3 weight watcher points so far!) 2) take a photo everyday of my son. My only regret was that I didn’t make that one from the day he was born. 3) be more organized. (Yeah right! I am typing this from my desk at work that is cluttered in papers and case notes) 4) learn to cook 5) take a photo shop and photography class 6) like you, read more often. I used to read a book a day back in HS and then one a week in college. After my son was born, I stopped reading novels and started reading Parenting magazine. I miss my novels. So, this year, I want to spend more time focusing on myself and having a little more me time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

