A letter to Drew

To Our Dearest Baby Drew,

Although your father and I have yet to meet you, already we have found someone we love with all that we are. You have entered our lives from what seems like a far-away place, but you are so close it feels as though you are inside our hearts.

Your gender makes no difference to us, girl or boy you will be our beloved child. Athletic or scholastic, we’ll support your every endeavor. Funny or stoic, we will both cherish the development of your personality.

When we learned that we were pregnant with you we wanted to find a name that would represent something beautiful and strong, a name that would give you confidence and assurance. The name we chose is Drew, the name of a young soldier that served next to your father in Iraq. He lost his life defending our country, but his name will be honored by you our lovely Drew. Boy or girl, this is the name we have chosen for you.

Until July our Dear Drew, we will keep watching you grow and pray for your health. We already cherish your presence and look forward to being your parents.

Loving you,

Your mother

L&V

This entry was published on January 4, 2011 at 10:03 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “A letter to Drew

  1. Oh, Alex. Thank you so much for sharing this. It’s such a lovely letter to your sweet baby, and the ultrasound photos are priceless. I’m so excited for you and husband. I love the name and the story behind it.

  2. Beautiful on so many levels! I really am excited for you, even though we have never met! I love the beauty of the ultrasound details. I love the beauty of the name you have chosen….and why. I love the beauty you are revealing of yourself in how you feel about Drew.

    http://www.shutthefridge.blogspot.com

  3. Very sweet, loving letter to your little one. I agree with the other comments that the name you have chosen is beautiful, and the story behind it is special.
    Love your blog!
    Dianna
    http://www.thesedaysofmine.com

  4. Ok, you’ve got me tearing up at work! I love the name, and the reason behind it. You and Jeremy will make amazing parents!

  5. What a perfect name, chosen for perfect reasons!! This little one will always cherish their name. I hope that you will let Drew’s family know that they have a living representative of their cherished son. It would mean so much to them too, I am sure. I know Drew is watching over you all and is very proud to have this honor. Congrats again to you and your Hubby!!!!

  6. So, I just had to get up and close my office door because I was sobbing. What a moving letter! Yes, you must let Drew’s family know of their sons namesake. I lost a good friend in Iraq back in 2003 and one of our friends named their son after him and it meant the world to his family. This letter just brought up a whirlwind of emotions and happy thoughts. I’m so excited for you guys and look forward to watching baby Drew grow via ultrasound photos! I also think it is sweet that you are writing letters to Drew. I have a journal that I started writing when I was pregnant my “Dear Brock” letters.. I have continued to write letters to him, even now. I just let him know what is going on in his world, how much he means to me, and what accomplishments and milestones he has acheived.

  7. What a wonderful way to honor a fallen friend. I love the name Drew for a boy or a girl and the ultrasound pics are beautiful! What a sweet little profile your baby has! Hope you’re feeling well! 🙂

  8. So touching…I am moved beyond words.

    We are all celebrating your little Drew. 2011 is already a wonderful new year.

    ps: what a sweet little elbow!

  9. Isn’t it just wonderful being able to sign something “your mother”? I’m tearing up…so precious.

  10. Alex! Congratulations!!! I am so excited for you!
    Already you have created a beautiful memory for Drew. Your words capture the immense love we feel from the moment of conception.
    Please keep posting those pics!
    citymom

  11. Pat Luther on said:

    OK! I’m in tears! We are so excited for you all. You and J will make amazing parents and Drew will be a very lucky child. I am so happy that we will be able to share in this childs life as signifacant relatives. Drew is a beautifal name, however, he or she will always be my little butterbean!

  12. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    I’m so crying, but in the best way of course!! Strong name, and just a wonderful, heartwarming post!

  13. Thanks to all of you for your sweet responses. I can’t wait to meet our little Drew!!!

Leave a Reply

