If my head wasn’t attached…

My dad used to always say, “You’d lose your head if it wasn’t attached to your neck!”

I’ve always been a tiny bit forgetful, maybe absent-minded at times. I just about always walk out of the house, start my car, pull out of the garage…THEN realize I forgot my cell phone. At which point I, or my passenger, sprint back in the house to locate the phone. Which typically requires calling my phone because I can’t remember where I put the darn thing.

And there have been a few times when I have locked myself out of the house. I’ve since found remedies for that.

And of course I can’t just lock my keys in the car… I leave them in the ignition, car running, lock my doors, eat lunch for over an hour, THEN realize that my keys are locked in the car. Thank goodness for the invention of keyless entry, now my keys stay in my purse. And cars manufacturers must know me, because you also can’t lock the doors if your keys are still in the car. Magic and absolutely wonderful for those of us with lots of things on our minds.

This is all to say that pregnancy has brought on a whole-new level of forgetfulness. I mean really, if I go to the store for Coke and eggs – I come home with orange juice, butter, chocolate mint ice cream, and fig newtons. (This actually happened). But no Coke nor eggs.

Today, I drove 2 hours away to visit my friend Stefanie and her newborn baby girl, Ella. Remember Stef? I had the shower for her?

She gave birth to a beautiful, 6.5 pound, baby girl named Ella Jane.

Oh how I love that baby. She is so adorable and cuddly, she smells so yummy and sweet.

Well I left this morning, exited the garage, forgot my phone. Sprinted in for my phone (which I left in the bathroom, so it took me 5 minutes to locate it.) Then I back half-way down my driveway, I forgot the gift. Sprinted in for the gift. I stood in the kitchen for a moment, “Okay Alex, is there anything you’re missing? Think…” OH YEAH, I need something to drink! That’s got to be what I’m missing.

Almost to Stefanie’s, two hours away, I realize… what I forgot was my camera!

I’ll be sure to get photos of Ella soon to share with you, but suffice it to say that she is adorable. My hands still smell like sweet little baby lotion.

Now…what was I gonna do next? Hmmm… Until I remember I guess I’ll go watch the news.

(And pretend that my pregnancy brain made me forget to cook dinner.) Heh heh heh…

L&V

This entry was published on January 19, 2011 at 6:40 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “If my head wasn’t attached…

  1. Funny! I’ll be anxious to see pictures of baby Ella.
    By the way, is this your first baby?

    I know what you mean about being forgetful. This morning I was going for my walk. But first I had to go out to the garage to get the front door key out of my car. Came back in, put on my coat, earmuffs, etc. Then remembered my sunglasses. They were in the car. I figured I’d just about walked my 30 minutes before I ever got out the door! And I can’t blame it on a pregnancy! đŸ™‚

    Dianna
    http://www.thesedaysofmine.com

  2. It really helps me to go ahead and pack whatever I will need for the next day the night before and put it in my car. For example, the people at our dentist office want to see the pictures from our recent trip when we go tomorrow (my mom was there Monday and told them about it). So, the scrapbook is in the car, ready to go, along with knitting for patienly waiting for our turn. Wish I had an answer for the cell phone thing, because I almost always have to run back in the house to get it – and my garage is in the basement! YUCK.

  3. Ha! I had pregnancy brain but I’m not pregnant anymore so now I call it “Mom brain”….I’m a huge scatter-brain, too!

Leave a Reply

