BAD Blogger

I am horrible, terrible, awful and just plain ol’ no good.

Here’s the reality… My hormones have wreaked havoc with my brain. Remembering to put on pants before I exit the house seems to be a momentous occasion. I have yet to remember that it is February, meaning it is cold outside, which means I need to wear a coat. Do you know I haven’t put on a coat since our last snow storm over a month ago? Why? Because I forget!!!

And here’s the other reality… My life suddenly got extremely boring. The dogs are shedding way more than normal, so I Swiffer twice a day. And, um…. I’m not cooking still, so I have some interesting food concoctions that would probably just gross most of you out. (Like my dinner of a Captain D’s piece of fish coupled with a salad and frosty from Wendy’s). Other than these events, I could further bore you with all of the television I’ve consumed or naps I’ve taken.

That is…until this week. This week is EXCITING!!!

Today, my husband and I went to the perinatal doctor for an ultrasound. I am 16.5 weeks along, so I thought for sure that I would find out the sex of the baby. So we were so anxious and excited!

Then, we met our technician. We said hello, then she immediately looked at me and said, “You’re not 5’9”.

I reply, “Well, unless I’ve shrunk, I’m 5’9″. ”

She looks me up and down and says, “You don’t look tall.”

I’m thinking, it’s probably because I’ve grown wider over the past few months. I’m just trickin’ your eyes sweetheart. But I just shrugged and kept my self-deprecation to myself.

Then as she quickly poked and prodded, saying things look good and normal, my husband paced behind her.

“Dad, you’re making me nervous.”

Um? How rude!

Then without any further effort, she says that the baby is breach and she’s unable to determine the sex. The end.

We left feeling deflated. The baby is healthy, the heart was beating normally, things looked good. Honestly, not learning the sex was not that big of a deal… but having such a hurried and unfriendly experience really bummed us out.

So, I decided to take matters into my own hands. I was going to surprise my mom and dad tomorrow after we learned the sex, but I’m sure my mom will read this in the morning. I found an ultrasound “spa” where they guarantee they’ll determine the sex, or you get a free scan on another day until they figure it out. My husband has to work, but that is okay because the whole scan will be on a CD that he can watch later.

YEEEEE!!!!!!! I’m so excited!!!! Don’t worry, I won’t make you guys wait a week to hear from me again. I’ll blog tomorrow, cross my heart.

Wish me luck… Pink or Blue!

L&V

This entry was published on February 2, 2011 at 9:56 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “BAD Blogger

  1. Oh, it will be soooo exciting to finally know! Of course, they told me that I was having a girl (after 5 ultrasounds no less) only to find out that since I was 5 days late, my OB sent me to our hospital for a high powered ultra sound, that I was having a little boy!!!!! Ihate now to admit that I cried. I bought all sorts of pink dresses! LOL! For me, God knew exactly what he was doing. My son Paul and I are very close and I wouldn’t trade my son, who is my only child, for anything!

    I am sorry that your technician wasn’t more kind. The next one is sure to be better! I am looking forward to hear your news! Take care, Meghan

  2. That’s too bad that the technician was so rude. And then to be disappointed about not finding out the sex. Can’t wait to hear what you find out tomorrow!

    Meghan, your story sounds like mine. Ultrasounds 30 years ago weren’t all that great so far as determining the sex. I just KNEW that I would have a baby girl. But I was wrong. And my son (also my only child) and I are SO close, I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

    Dianna
    http://www.thesedaysofmine.com

  3. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    You are sooooo cute!!!!!! Too bad the tech was so bitchy……but the spa sounds great,can’t wait to hear the news!

  4. mommytothree on said:

    I had a horrible experience with the tech with my first baby, too. She said, “and there id the pregnancy”….. pregnancy? Excuse me, were you referring to MY BABY!!!! Some people! Good luck tomorrow. Write down which you think, then reward yourself if you are right. Heck, reward yourself either way! It’s your baby and that in itself is a treat!

  5. I’m so sorry that you did not have a great experience on your visit. Her behavior was very unprofessional and I would recommend that you call the office and tell them your experience and that she should work on her bedside manners and be more proffesional. I work in the medical field and that comment about your height was very inappropriate coming from an ultrasound tech. Completely irrelevant. Everyone knows how excited and nervous parents are when they come in for their ultrasound and how a few nice words can go a long way. My tech was amazing and chatted the whole time. We ran into eachother after my son was born and shared with me that she was expecting and was excited to be in opposite roles. We talked about daycare and now she has her daughter at same place as my son. So, I hate that you guys went through that. I have never heard of an ultrasound “spa”. How neat is that! Good luck tomorrorw!

  6. Ach, what terrible bedside manner. People like that bug me! That person needs to remember that this is a joyous, exciting occasion for you! Have a little compassion and understanding.

    That said, I’m super excited for your next scan. Can’t wait to hear all about it. 🙂

  7. Hmmm, I am feeling PINK!! Let’s see if I am right ; ) I am with Katie, give the office a call. You can be very nice and just let them know that maybe she was having a bad day or something was wrong, but she needs to leave that outside the door. This is a very special, possibly once in a lifetime moment, and her attitude had no place there. You will get that at the “Spa” I am sure. It will be so exciting to hear the news, I’ll be checking back and waiting too!! Congrats on either Pink or Blue!!!!

Leave a Reply

