O is for Owl & Obsession

Have any of you noticed the presence of something new in the world of decor?

I have been doing a bit of internet searching for all things nursery-related of course. I decided that Owls might be a cute accent to my design theme. Not too girly, but cute and fun.

And there’s this little poem that I like:

Mr. Owl
I saw an owl up in a tree
I looked at him and he looked at me.
I couldn’t tell you about his size
For all I saw were two big eyes.

This is the stuffed owl my mother already bought for Drew. (Not that she’s excited about her granddaughter or anything).

I became a bit obsessed with the owl theme, and I keep finding more and more and more OWLS!

I even found the cutest owl jewelry. This is cute kid-friendly jewelry.

And this? This is mommy-friendly owl jewelry.

I also happened across owl tattoos, owl decorations for body-piercing, and this…

RANDOM!

I am still loving the owls for Drew’s nursery, and now I feel confident that I will have no issues finding plenty of owl-items to decorate her room.

I love this painting.

So where to begin? I think I’ll start with that necklace to get me in the mood!

L&V

This entry was published on February 5, 2011 at 8:38 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “O is for Owl & Obsession

  1. And then, when she’s older, she can read the Owls of Ga’Hoole series!!! And maybe her favorite treat will be Tootsie Pops….does that age me? I bet you are too young to even know what I am talking about!!!! One…..two….ttthhhhrrreeee!!!

    Isn’t this planning stage fun?!?

    http://www.shutthefridge.blogspot.com

    • I remember the Tootsie Pop owl…how many licks to the tootsie roll center? I suspect we are very close in age, I’m just a late bloomer in the kid arena! I’m 36 (and a half!), lol… My favorite tootsie pop was chocolate.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  2. I’ve never really been a huge “owl” fan, but some of these things are really cute! I love the owl lamp. Looking forward to seeing Drew’s nursery as it takes shape!

    Dianna
    http://www.thesedaysofmine.com

  3. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    I love owls, and I love that poem! Very cute theme with lots of possibilities! Have a fun!

  4. Weird! I was just having this “owls are everywhere” conversation with someone at work the other day!

    I love any animal related themes in a child’s room. So many decorating and color palette possibilities. Have fun!

    Speaking of babies and animals…here’s a daily website to check out: http://www.zooborns.com
    Zoos around the world submit photos/videos of their newest babies- SOOOO CCUUUTE!

    Enjoy your weekend everyone!

  5. Pat Luther on said:

    If I was a baby I think I might be terrified of all those big eyes starting at me, but all of these big eyes are really cute. I’m sure j could teach her to hoot. It is going to be bad for me that A is the manager in a baby department! I spent a lot of time in there today!

  6. Meghan on said:

    Too cute! I went through the “First” owl stage in the 60’s and 70’s but this owl time has me thoroughly charmed. If I had my baby now, I would too do the owl theme! When my son, Paul, born, I did Beatrix Potter. Sooo sweet! Hug your tummy for me!

  7. My co-worker used this for her nursery and did an owl theme.. she used the main blanket and then had a friend paint a really pretty mural on the wall of the tree.. and added some owls.. also, check out Etsy.. they have a lot of cute things on there.
    http://www.potterybarnkids.com/room/rom/romnur/romnurbrk/
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/66429392/brooke-pottery-barn-kids-owl-and-tree
    http://www.etsy.com/search_results.php?search_type=all&includes%5B0%5D=tags&search_query=pottery+barn+kids&page=1&ref=related

    There you go!

  8. Hey, I just found a post that made me think of you and Drew and her room. It is a tour of her sister’s house and it has owls, birds, leaves…just cute…actually it is pictures of a boy’s room and a girl’s room – but somehow they both made me think of Drew!

    http://kennyanderin.blogspot.com/

  9. Melissa on said:

    I am doing the owl theme too for my little boy and have been looking for cute owl lamps. I love the one on this page!!! Where did you find it at??

Leave a Reply

