Quick Nigel Update

Thank goodness…Nigel is okay!!!

He is in great pain due to a bad disk in his neck, but the vet is confident that with a few powerful medications he’ll be up and running again in a few weeks.

His physical reaction to the pain included very exaggerated muscle spasms, panic attacks which resulted in panting and heart racing, and he whimpered from the pain. We were totally afraid he was in heart failure, or something totally traumatic.

It’s not great news because weenie dogs do suffer from disk degenerative disease, and it is obviously debilitating… but compared to what we were worried about, this is fantastic news!

Thank you for all of your kind notes. Princess Nigel sends his sincerest appreciation.

New Nigel photos will surely be coming SOON!

L&V

This entry was published on February 21, 2011 at 9:53 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Quick Nigel Update

  1. Oh Nigel! I am teary for you! My dear husband has degenerative back disease with a herniated L4 and L5 disc. I see the pain he goes through each day. I am so sorry for what you are going through. Hugs little Nigel! Such a blessing that you have a mommy and daddy that adore you! I will be waiting to hear how you are feeling. Get some rest! Meghan

  2. Wahooooo!!!! So happy for the good news. I’m so sad he’s in such pain, but I’m sure he’ll feel better with his new meds. Such a relief that he’s going to be okay. Please give him smooches from us.

  3. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    Yea for Nigel!!!! Relax tonight!!!

  4. I only recently found your blog, and as a doxie lover I bookmarked it right away. I’m so sorry Nigel is not feeling well! I’ve had doxies with back problems. It’s hard to see them hurting. My doxies were treated with oral steroid meds and crate rest for about 3 weeks. They both recovered well and lived a long life.

    But, even though Nigel is a beautiful pup, I must tell you that a leaner doxie is a healthier doxie. I had to learn to not over feed my doxies and also to not let them jump on the couch or my bed. I believe that once my doxies lost the extra weight, their health improved so much.

    Their beautiful pleading eyes are hard to resist when they want a bite of people food, but resist we must. Doxies backs are not meant to carry extra weight.

    I hope Nigel recovers quickly and is playful and happy again soon.

  5. Oh praise God that Nigel is going to be OK. When I read the previous post I just had tears in my eyes. I was praying too! I know how it is when one of your babies is hurting, you hurt too. Thankfully the meds will help! Sending get well wishes to Nigel!!! Now everyone can breathe easier and relax again ; )

  6. You had me nervous for you guys! I am SO glad Nigel is going to be okay. Modern medicine is a wonderful thing, isn’t it?!?! You will also appreciate modern medicine for yourself when you go into labor! Trust me. You will.

    By the way, I gave you a Stylish Blogger award over on my site!

  7. I’m so glad Nigel is ok! My mom has a toy fox terrier/pug mix, and quite a few years ago was in some extreme pain. She couldn’t lift her head or move around. We were so scared that it was something serious. We got to the vet and they said it was something in her neck (don’t remember the specifics!). They gave her some muscle relaxers and a shot, and she perked right up! She is now 14 years old and still doing great!

Leave a Reply

