Vet Visit for Nigel

My baby….

No, not the human baby in my belly. The canine baby that we’ve all grown to love, Nigel…

He’s not feeling well. We aren’t sure what is wrong with him, but his heart suddenly starts racing and pumping really hard. His breathing is labored. My husband’s worst fear is that their little spill last week may have caused some injuries that are just now showing up.

That’s my worst fear too… Whoops, tears just welled in my eyes.

I’ve told you guys the stories of the love between man and dog. The scene at the airport the day my husband returned from a year in Iraq. Nigel screamed out when he saw him, not forgetting his daddy even after an entire year.

My big strong Army dude falling head-over-heels in love with my little wiener dog. My husband was the first to realize that Nigel had gone blind. He cradled that confused little dog as he learned to navigate his new, dark world. I think it made Nigel even more of a baby to us, the tiny little dog that would always need our help…

My husband has always found it impossible to treat Nigel like a dog. Nigel never gets washed with a cold garden hose! No, he gets to take nice, long, hot showers with his daddy.

And of course, Nigel sleeps in bed with us. Usually at the foot of the bed… but on occasion he finds his way to my pillow.

The thought of our pampered princess being in pain is so terribly upsetting to me. I hate seeing him frightened and I can’t wait for my 3:30pm appointment to hear that everything is okay. I hope that the doctor tells us he just needs a pill or something. I don’t pray to God for my pets very often, I try to reserve my prayers for things that I think He would deem important and necessary. But today, this is a prayer that is important and needed.

Please God, please let my Nigel be okay. And if he isn’t, please let my husband be okay.

They are each other’s best friends. And they are both the loves of my life.

L&V

This entry was published on February 21, 2011 at 10:58 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Vet Visit for Nigel

  1. Oh, I feel for you. Our beagle is the light of our life too. I hope that Nigel is alright and you get a good report from the vet. Will send up doggy prayers on his behalf — nothing wrong with that.

  2. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    Thoughts are with you, hope all turns out well………..puppy prayers for Nigel!

  3. Oh Nigel! I hope you’re okay, buddy. Please keep us posted when you find out how he’s doing. Pets become such a part of the family, you don’t want them in pain and suffering. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with praying for a pet…God understands the relationship! 🙂

  4. not to make light of the situation, but what the heck is on j’s feet in the shower pic???it looks like he has sequins on his feet!!!….is it just the reflection of the water droplets or is it his sparkling personality coming out???just wondering….love you guys…hope princess nigel is okay, but more i hope j is okay

  5. Awww…. I’ll say a little prayer for Nigel….and you….and your hubby! I sure hope everything will be okay. Those little four-legged ones become so much a part of our family. PLEASE post quickly and let us know what the vet says!
    Oh – and I so appreciate you capitalizing the “H” in the word “He” when you referred to God. That seems to have become a thing of the past, but I still do it!

    Dianna
    http://www.thesedaysofmine.com

  6. Oh, I will pray for little Nigel-and you and your hubby! I will be waiting to hear what you found out at the vet today. hugs! Meghan

Leave a Reply

