Selling a house

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned that my husband and I still own our home in Nashville. When he was restationed to Georgia, the economy had taken a huge tank and no homes were selling. We had our home listed for much less than we paid, and still had no offers.

So we decided to do what so many others have had to do…we became reluctant landlords. We got so lucky and had tenants with a 2-year lease, and they loved the home as much as we did.

In the past week, the tenants were re-located to Chicago by their company and our home is again vacant. So time for a big decision…try to sell again, or rent again? We’ve decided to put it on the market and see what happens.

With this decision has come the need to do some maintenance on our property. Like these house-eating bushes in the front yard. I’ve never seen these bushes this HUGE, I’m amazed. Two years ago they were barely knee high.

If we were in Nashville, we’d have these projects knocked out in an afternoon. But a 7-hour drive doesn’t seem worthwhile for the piddly little things that need to be done.

Like replacing these blinds that were obviously well loved by a little doggy.

So we are dependent on the help of our realtor, and a handyman. And I’m trying really hard not to be too worried about it, and just cross my fingers that it sells quickly.

I wish I had prettier photos of the house to share with you as it is a really pretty house. When my husband and I got married we had a cocktail party at that house afterwards with our family and local friends. It made that house forever “home” to me. I miss our wonderful neighbors and the sidewalks that ran the entire neighborhood. I just hope that someone else can make it their new home…and soon!!!

L&V

This entry was published on March 24, 2011 at 11:58 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Selling a house

  1. What a gorgeous house! I can see why you loved it. I still have very fond memories of our first home, and that was over 20 years ago. You never forget your first. Fingers crossed for a quick sale to a loving buyer.

  2. Good luck with the sale. I’m sure it’s bittersweet to sell it, but the memories will stay with you!

  3. Good luck! It really looks like a beautiful home! Try to just sit back and relax and let others take care of it for you. Keep us posted. Who knows, maybe you have a reader in the Nashville area looking for a new place!!!

  4. Oh no! I am so sorry you’re back to square one – we know all about the long distance renting (and fixing up). I wish you guys the best of luck. If it helps we sold J’s house just a couple months before Julia was born with the help of a realtor and a handyman too 🙂

  5. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    Ohhh, I love that house! I have so any fond memories of our first house and I’m grateful for all the pictures we have while living there. We have a home for sale in Hoodsport Wa. and hope it goes by summer! Good luck, it is picking up in the real estate market. 🙂

Leave a Reply

