Whistle While You Work

Today… Monday… I am posting a random list of thoughts…

1. I’ve been painting canvases for my soon-to-arrive daughter’s room. I will share them with all of you soon, but they are currently a work in progress. And my camera suddenly is not operating. I have the battery charging and will move lenses around to see if I’ve just bumped something. Send happy vibes my way that the camera is okay!

2. I bought a new album on iTunes. It’s ADELE’s album “21”. Holy cow is it good! I’ve been listening to it while I paint. The messages in the song don’t really match the task at hand as she is mostly telling the man in her life that he doesn’t know how good he had it with her. And that she really wants him back. Or in another song she’s kind of yelling at him for not trying hard enough. Not exactly getting me in the “kid” mood, but the music is so good I can’t stop listening to it! Her voice is amazing.

3. It is starting to feel like summer here. That’s great because I am sooooo ready to hit the pool! I’ve been shopping the maternity swimsuits… I think that clothing manufacturers think that it’s funny to basically make a joke of pregnant women that want to swim. None of those suits are flattering. Most of them have huge prints that look like they came straight from grandma’s mu-mu. Like I really want a giant hibiscus on my ever-growing belly. Or better yet, put that jumbo daisy print across my hind-end. That is surely going to disguise my growing hips and make me feel confident as I strut my stuff at the neighborhood pool.

4. Nigel took a nose-dive this morning. He was outside across the yard. He was done doing his “business”, so I yelled out to him, “Nigel! You ready to eat!?!”. Well, I guess he was hungry because he started hauling his little blind self across that yard at warp speed. Then he hit a little bump in the ground and face planted in the fescue. He just lay there for a second and I was so scared…thinking, here we go again with a neck injury. Then he hopped up, shook his little head, and started running full steam ahead again. And yes, he did gobble up his grub. He was starving! And he seems to be fine, let’s hope he stays that way.

5. My sister came up to our house for Easter yesterday. We had dinner at a local family-style, southern fair type restaurant. It was gooooood. Ham, roast, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, creamed corn, green beans, collard greens, black-eyed peas, sweet potatoes, yeast rolls and my favorite – cornbread muffins. Man was it good. I had an excuse to waddle back to my car afterwards.

6. My husband and I put the baby’s crib together this weekend. And I’ve been patching nail holes in the walls and trying to figure out how to configure the room. I know we still have a lot of time, but my friends and family are coming here for a baby shower in a couple of weeks. I want everyone to get to see the nursery somewhat put together. I will be sure to post photos of everything as we start to get it together. I could cry looking at the crib, I just can’t imagine that my little baby girl will soon be in there. My friend Stefanie told me that her 3.5 month old is sleeping in her crib now. She says it’s weird to think back to when her crib was just an empty space, now it’s her daughter’s bed. It still amazes me that I am capable of growing this child inside of me. (I know that sounds kind of personal, sorry). But when I feel her tumble around I feel totally mesmerized. How could this be real?

7. My girlfriend Colleen mentioned making a peanut butter pie for Easter. Doesn’t that sound delicious? Growing up, my friend’s grandma used to always make peanut butter pies for us when we would visit. Hers had an Oreo crust and a frozen peanut butter filling that was so creamy it would just melt in your mouth. So you know what I’m planning to make this week? You got it… a peanut butter pie!!! Now I have to decide between Paige’s Grandma’s recipe and Paula Deen. It really comes down to an Oreo crust or a graham cracker crust? Decisions, decisions…

8. Okay, I’ve blathered on enough, so I’ll stop here. But I wanted to mention that I really do appreciate the sweet and encouraging comments I always receive from you guys. I love that you laugh with me and that you’re always offering your experiences and thoughts about each post. So be sure to tell me your funny maternity swimsuit stories or what y’all did for Easter!

L&V

This entry was published on April 25, 2011 at 12:04 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Whistle While You Work

  1. I vote for the OREO crust. I’ve used graham cracker crust with my peanut butter pie before, and it didn’t receive good reviews from my critics (my son and his best friend)! They prefer the oreo, or just a chocolate, crust, and I agree! Peanut Butter pie is what my son requests every year when I ask what kind of birthday cake he wants LOL.

    I’m excited for you as you prepare for your precious little girl’s arrival! It has been many, many years (20 come 4/28 to be exact) since I’ve been in your place, but I still remember the feeling of joy and awe when the baby moved!

    If you have a facebook page, I would love for you to enter my Etsy shop giveaway! https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Southern-Cheese-Straw-Co/157576857603625

  2. Hmm. I’d probably choose the graham cracker crust. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten peanut butter pie, but it sounds yummy.
    And no maternity swimsuit for me when I was pregnant. Of course, it was the wrong time of year…

  3. I love Adele’s voice, too!
    Can’t wait to see the nursery & your canvas paintings.
    How exciting that she’s tumbling in your tummy! Very cool.
    I vote for graham cracker crust (because I hate Oreo filling).
    Peanut butter pie sounds awesome!
    Have you tried LL Bean or Lands End for swimsuits?
    We stayed home alone for Easter (but the ham was great).
    Peanut butter pie sounds awesome!

  4. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    Hmmm, I vote for graham cracker crust too! I’ve never had peanut butter pie, I have to google the recipe!
    I had my kids in the late 70’s and let me tell you, there were some UGLY maternity clothes back then! Little fruits and small animals prints……..not cute either!
    Glad Nigel made it to his food dish!

  5. Let me know when you make that pie and I’m heading straight up 400!! Seriously. 😉

  6. Karla on said:

    How about make 2 pies with both kinds of crusts and do a taste test? I’ve never had a peanut butter pie but it sounds fantastic. Let us know which crust wins.

    I am just plain impressed that you still want to wear a bathing suit while being pregnant! You have great self-esteem! What a good role model you’ll be for little Drew!

    Didn’t do much for Easter, sorry.

  7. Is it sad that after two years later, I can still wear my maternity swimsuit? Yes, very, but I actually love mine. I bought it at Motherhood Maternity and it is a pretty sage green tankini. I think I still love it so much, because the flowy top covers my belly and makes me feel less exposed.
    Went to a 6am sunrise Easter service and then came home and made pancakes with a really good lemon raspberry sauce for the in-laws Easter morning and had a mini Easter egg hunt for Bugaboo. We made a path with eggs and had them lead up to where we “hid” his Easter basket. He squealed with delight when he saw a blow up “Aubie” tiger (our college mascot- Bugs is obsessed with him right now) in his Easter basket along with several other little gifts, and then he got really sick with RSV and strep and had to do several breathing treatments at home to keep him out of the hospital… I hate when Bugaboo is sick, but not going to lie.. it was so nice to spend the past two days at home with him.
    PS
    Enjoy every kick and movement Drew makes… I miss those flutters, kicks, and somersaults!
    ok, I’m done… sorry for the chapter long reply.

Leave a Reply

