Grandma’s Peanut Butter Pie

I mentioned in an earlier post that I was craving Peanut Butter Pie after discussing it with a friend of mine. I decided to make one Saturday for a dinner with our neighbors.

I used the recipe from my girlfriend’s grandma. It makes me think of our summer trips down to Florida to stay with her Grandma for a week. Our bedroom was right across the hall from her Grandma so we would try to be really quiet when we went to bed, but the walls must have been paper thin because she always heard us. I remember one night, late, Grandma heard us giggling and talking about silly stuff. She turned on the hall light and walked out of her bedroom, we of course thought we were in trouble… Instead she came in a few minutes later with little plates of frozen peanut butter pie for us to snack on while we all giggled together. I miss Grandma…

I should warn you before I even start this post that I really messed up the photos this time. I started out strong, remembering to photograph every step…then I must have gotten distracted or something because the last half of the recipe didn’t get photographed. But I decided that lack of photos was not a good enough reason to keep this deliciousness from you all, so please forgive me.

I haven’t been cooking much lately, so I’m getting back in the swing.

And I’m pregnant, so my brain isn’t working right.

And I’m sure my ankles were swelling and hurting as I was working.

And I could come up with 100 other things that were distracting me, like how delicious the peanut butter was smelling, but let’s get to cookin’…

Starting with 6 ounces of room temperature cream cheese and 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter, we’ll be creaming these two items together.

Make sure the cream cheese is really soft, otherwise the creamed mixture will be lumpy and not good for a creamy, delicious filling.

Using a hand-held mixer the peanut butter and cream cheese come together very easily. It’s a thick concoction.

In a separate bowl with clean, dry beaters mix together one cup of heavy whipping cream, half cup + 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla.

I like to use the whisk attachment for this phase, but regular beaters will work as well. You’ll want to whip it until soft peaks form. That means that when you lift the beater out of the cream, you will see a little peak form.

This is where my photo journalism fails. I didn’t take anymore photos for some reason??? But the next steps include the following:

Pour half of the cream mixture into the peanut butter mixture, whisk together. Again, I use the whisk attachment on my handheld mixture. If you don’t have that attachment, just use an old-school manual whisk! It’s won’t be that tough to incorporate the mixture.

Then pour in the other half of the cream and slowly fold in the whipped cream. Folding in means using a spoon, slide the spoon down the side of the bowl, to the bottom, and back up. You don’t want to break the whipped nature of the cream as it will add so much body to your final pie. You are lightly incorporating the cream into the mixture.

I used a store bought chocolate crumb pie shell, if you prefer graham cracker that’s fine too. Just pour the mixture into the shell.

If you like embellishment you can do a little trick to make it pretty… melt a little bit of chocolate chips (maybe an ounce), then mix in 3 tablespoons of the peanut butter pie filling. I put it in a baggie and kind of piped a spiral design on top of the pie. Polka dots would be cute too.

Then chill for at least 2 hours, and honestly it’s even better the next day.

Voila! Grandma’s Peanut Butter Pie.

I hope y’all enjoy, and won’t hold the lack of photos against me. I’m off to eat more pie for breakfast…

Grandma’s Peanut Butter Pie

Printable Version

1 Store bought chocolate cookie crust

6 Ounces cream cheese, at room temperature

3/4 Cup creamy peanut butter

1 Cup heavy whipping cream

1/2 Cup + 2 Tablespoons powdered sugar

1 Teaspoon vanilla

Optional* 1 oz chocolate chips

Beat peanut butter and cream cheese until smooth.

In a separate bowl, using clean/dry beaters – whip cream, powdered sugar and vanilla until soft peaks form.

Pour half of cream mixture into peanut butter mixture. Whisk mixture together well.

Pour remaining half of cream mixture into peanut butter mixture. Fold in whipped cream gently.

Pour pie filling into prepared shell. Chill at least 2 hours or overnight.

Optional* Mix together 3 tablespoons of pie mixture and 1 ounce of melted chocoalte. Use this to decorate top of pie by piping spiral design or polka dots.

This entry was published on May 2, 2011 at 12:13 pm and is filed under In the Kitchen, Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Grandma’s Peanut Butter Pie

  1. Fork schmork! I don’t need no stinkin’ fork!
    Just pass me that plate, will you? Please?

  2. jody on said:

    Damn you, alex for not telling me you made one :). I would have been up to DVille so fast! Now I lay in a hospital bed waiting to have my baby and am wondering, with wet lips, what that pie could have been 🙂

    • Don’t worry… You’ll get pie. I’m just holding it ransom until your baby arrives. Then we’ll trade cuddles for pie! So you could be only hours from pie. 🙂
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

