And Then There Were Three…

I just returned home from the hospital today. Sadly, I returned without my daughter… She is still in the NICU learning to breathe and eat on her own.

I wanted to have all of my beautiful photos to post about her for the first time, but I am too tired to even think about digging out the camera to download the images. So I’m using my cell phone images for now, but promise I will take the time to upgrade to the good stuff soon!

For cell phone photos, they aren’t all bad. She looks awful pretty to me!

Excuse all of her apparatus. This is nothing compared to what all she had going on the first day she was in the world. She is 4-days old today, and her little soul has already been through so much.

I don’t have the energy to explain it all right now, but suffice it to say that Drew and I were shocked to meet one another a month before her due date. She was very, very ill at birth…most of the doctors and nurses thought that she would not make it. After blood transfusions and lots of help breathing, she is very healthy and basically just a preemie baby now.

There is nothing in my life that I have ever been so proud of. All 4 pounds and 13 ounces of her! I love this little life that I am lucky enough to call my daughter. I have thanked my husband 1,000 times for choosing me as the mother of his child. And I have prayed so hard that tears well up in my eyes each time I even think of who I really owe thanks for saving my little girl.

I don’t mean to be mysterious with our birth story, but it’s long with a lot details that I don’t want to forget to tell you. But now I’m drunk on pain killers and exhausted from a week of firsts. I didn’t want to delay showing off my little Drew even one more day. Thanks to all of you for your messages of well wishes, they were SO appreciated this week.

L&V, a.k.a. Drew’s Mommy

This entry was published on June 21, 2011 at 10:00 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “And Then There Were Three…

  1. Aw, sending you hugs. (I’m not able to view any of your pictures -just the dread red X). My son was 5 weeks premature, born with pneumonia in both lungs, and also spent several days in NICU – so I definitely know what you’re going through…. sending prayers for baby Drew.
    Can’t wait to hear all the details….when you’re up to it.

    Take care of yourself: baby Drew will need you to be strong when she comes home!

  2. Never mind my comment about the photos – I clicked on the X and was able to view them. She’s so tiny and precious!

  3. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    Congratulations!!! Such a special time for your family, can’t wait to hear the full story………….so happy she is doing well, that cute little honey bunny!!!

  4. Drew is just beautiful and thank the Lord she is fine! I know that you and your hubby are amazed at the level of love you feel for her, as I don’t think anyone can ever fully describe it. I am so excited and thrilled for all three of you (and for her four legged siblings too!!)!!!

  5. Marie on said:

    Welcome to the world Drew!

    I have followed your blog on-and-off for over a year, always catching up reading the posts I missed. I have been checking regulary to find out baby status and when I saw your post title today, was so excited for the details until I read that Drew did come home with you. I am so sorry and I simply can’t imagine not being able to come home with one of my 3 babies. Take good care of yourself and remember to breathe deep.

    I would love to hear the details of how she went from a rocky start life to a healthy premie baby.

    May God continue his blessing…

  6. Wow! You’ve been through a lot this week! Drew is BEAUTIFUL…I love the picture of her all snuggled up on your shoulder. I’m so glad she’s okay! God is good! Praying she will be home with you and your husband very, very soon. Anxiously awaiting the details of her birth, but only when you are ready. For now just rest and enjoy your sweet little one. Congratulations Mommy!!!

  7. Welcome to Drew! She is a beautiful little girl.
    But you must be exhausted after all this stress, and for not having her with you.
    I hope she continues to build her strength, and that she’ll be with you very soon.
    Loves to the whole family

  8. Oh, Alex. That last photo of her snuggled up to your cheek is so wonderful. What a beautiful, sweet little girl. I’m so, so thankful that you and Drew are both doing well. She’s gorgeous, and I’m sure you and Daddy are thrilled beyond words. I can’t wait to see more about her and hear about your experience, but rest and time with your baby girl are most important. Hugs and kisses to all three of you. Congrats!

  9. I am only seeing the dreaded red X right now too….so when I get back from VBS will try another time. I am sending you, your hubby and Drew a big prayer-filled hug!

Leave a Reply

