Starting A Family

Do you notice something different about my little girl???

That’s right…NO TUBES!!! No feeding tube. No oxygen. Nothin’. She’s just doing it all on her own.

She still has wires that are connected to all of the monitors she wears, but the assistance to breathe and eat is a thing of the past. We’ve been told that preemie babies sometimes waiver and need to return to the assistance a time or two before they are ready to come home, so we are not out of the woods just yet. But we are so, so close.

Feeding the baby is the highlight of my day. I just want to do it in my jammies, in the comfort of my own home. I want to be able to talk to my daughter without wondering if the nurses think I’m crazy for telling my week old baby that I have so many dreams for her. That I thank her for fighting so hard to stay in this world. That her daddy keeps breaking down in tears when he realizes how much he loves her. That our 7-year-old neighbor Kenzie wants to be her best friend AND her baby-sitter. Or that I’ve never accomplished anything in my life that has made me more proud than starting a family with this wonderful man she’ll call Daddy.

For all of you that have already been through this new-mommy phase, you are probably familiar with this overwhelming sense of pride and joy. And I can tell from all of your comments that this phase just grows and grows as your child grows and grows.

I joked with my girlfriend that surely I’m the only woman in the world who has ever been through pregnancy, because if all women had done this, we would tell each other how awful it is and there’s no way we would all do it after hearing the reality of it all. And my friend Susan laughs and says, “Once you hold that little baby, the pains of pregnancy just disappear. You’ll see…”

Just a few days after Drew’s arrival I admitted that I now understand… I can still think back to the misery of my pregnancy, but I would do it all again for my little Drew. Our birth story was way too overwhelming for me to be ready to jump in right away, but I get it. I totally get it.

Starting a family feels like an extension of every wonderful thing I’ve ever experienced. A whole-new life with whom we get to share our home, our funny stories, our silly family traditions, and our love. A little girl that carries the name of a fallen soldier that meant so much to my husband, and I am certain was with our little girl as she fought for her life. She’s already proven to be a tough one, the nurses call her “feisty”.

Feisty is a term I may have heard a time or two in my life. So Drew may look just like her daddy… but maybe she got a little of her mom’s feisty nature???

L&V

 

This entry was published on June 28, 2011 at 9:30 am and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Starting A Family

  1. Misty on said:

    She is just beautiful! I’m so happy for you guys and love that she already has her daddy wrapped around her little finger. You guys are doing such a great job. Keep talking to her and let the nurses think you’re crazy!

  2. So glad she is doing such progress!
    And I did notice the smile and the more relaxed look on your face 🙂

  3. Wow… I can’t believe she is almost ready to go home already!! That is great news. My co-workers baby will hopefully be able to come home in a week. The world better watch out… there are TWO fiesty little girls who are are making a name for themselves. They need to be in their own club… Little Fighters! Well, I’m not creative and can’t think of a cute club name, but something to that effect! Make sure you are getting some rest… 🙂

  4. What a cute little face she has! Your face is pretty darn cute too! Yes, you do look so much more relaxed in your picture. So glad Drew is doing well and will come home soon. Blessings to all of you as you begin this new journey together!!

  5. She’s got her daddy’s toughness, her mother’s spunk, and her namesake as a guardian angel? There’s nothing this baby girl won’t be able to accomplish! Congrats on the remarkable improvement Drew is making. She is as amazing as she is beautiful. I hope you get to take her home soon so the two of you can smother her with affection around the clock!

  6. Karla on said:

    *gulp*

    Too moved by your words to write.

    Enjoy the drive home with little Drew. That day is coming soon.

  7. shyvonne on said:

    She is beautiful!

  8. Okay – the next time I see a new post from you, I’m just going to go get a box of tissues before I even start reading!!!

    Your little Drew is beautiful! That’s all I can say….just can’t wait til you can take her home. And I know you can’t either!

  9. Well, I just can’t think of anything to say because my heart is so full of happiness for you, your hubby and lil Drew! You are all fighters and have put up such a huge fight since she has been here! It will soon be time to bring her home and just relax and enjoy all the great things that being a family will bring! I can’t wait to hear how her furry siblings welcome her with open paws!!

  10. I am so sorry I haven’ been able to talk to you and see Drew.Please give her big hugs and kisses from Aunt Pat and know that I can’t to see you all

  11. You look so happy!!!! Yup, you get it now…you are now in our secret little society! I love, love, love the close up picture of Drew….her fuzzy little hair, her trusting eyes just looking at the camera..the almost non-existent eyebrows/eyelashes…..I am in love with her too!!!

Leave a Reply

