Sad, Sad Day…

Nigel went to heaven to today.

This all happened too fast for me. I didn’t have adequate time to feel good about this decision. I didn’t get to cuddle him quite long enough. I didn’t get to feed him the whole bag of treats.

But for Nigel, I think it was too slow in coming. He told me today that he was ready to become an angel.

I will miss that weenie dog for the rest of my life. He was my dearest companion and beloved friend. Nigel knew more about me than any human ever will. And I am so grateful to have known him and loved him.

And I learned today that he can in deed eat an entire double cheeseburger by himself, and that he does not like pickles on his burgers. 

I love you Nigel.

L&V

This entry was published on August 10, 2011 at 5:21 pm and is filed under Squawkings. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

23 thoughts on “Sad, Sad Day…

  1. I’m so sorry… I know how difficult this decision must have been for you. It’s never easy to say goodbye… Thinking of you guys!

  2. I’m so sorry. Your post yesterday made me cry and here I am crying again!! He knows how much you love him and that’s the most important thing. Nothing will ever fill that void, but so glad you have baby to occupy your time and help you heal!

  3. knotlazy on said:

    I am so sorry. Nigel was a beautiful dog, he looked just like my Sebastian. On the day Sebastian died, I remember thinking “I knew he was getting close to the end, but just not today.” I cried tears for you. I hope you enjoy happy memories of Nigel. I think he was a specially loved dog.

  4. So sorry to hear about Nigel. It’s never easy to make the decision to send them to doggy heaven. May you have many good memories of your beloved dog. My boxer, Junior, has been gone 3 years now and I still miss him! But I have lots of good memories and that makes me happy!

  5. I’m so sorry for your lost. But you know he is fine now, and grateful you let him go when the time came. That is the best present you gave him.

  6. Grandma Cheap Cheap on said:

    I’m so sorry for your lost. I stop in from time to time to read your blog but I do remember Nigel, your beloved dog. No one will be able to replace him in your heart and you are probably a better woman to have known him. You were a great Mom to him.

  7. Aunt Pat on said:

    I know how hard this is for you and how much you both loved him but just remember that he is no longer in pain. Your pain over losing him will ease as you remember all the good times and all the smiles he brought into your life. I guess we will settle for beautiful singing us Christmas carols this year. We love you.

  8. Aunt Pat on said:

    I know how hard this is for you and how much you both loved him but remember that he is no longer in pain. Your pain will ease as you remember all the good times with him and all the love and smiles he brought into your life. I think we can settle for beautiful Drew singing us Christmas carols this year. We love you.

  9. Meghan on said:

    The tears are falling for the loss of your beautiful little Nigel. I am so sorry for you and your husband-and baby Drew. Hugs, Meghan

  10. I’m sorry. I haven’t lost a pet yet, though the cats are getting older, so I don’t know how you feel yet. I’ve only been reading your blog for a short while, but you wrote him perfectly. I’m sorry.

  11. I am so, so sorry for your loss. We recently lost a cat, and it’s just not an easy thing to go through. I have two dogs now who I love like my children, and I cannot imagine losing them. I’ll be praying for you, and you just remember that adorable little Nigel is waiting to see you someday in heaven.

  12. I am so very sorry for your loss! Know that you gave him everything a dog could have ever wanted, and that is truly the best! He loved you all with all his heart and he knew you all loved him too! Sending hugs and comfort your way!

  13. There’s nothing to say to make the pain go away, but I’m thinking of you Alex. Will miss the posts about “Princess Nigel” and hope that you can find some peace and comfort knowing he’s not in pain anymore xo

  14. Hold the memories close. I know this is such a hard time. I miss my baby boy Dickens everyday but it does get better. You were a great Mom to Nigel!

    Take Care,
    Jenny in MN

  15. Yvonne A on said:

    I am so sorry for your loss.. it’s hard no matter whether you are expecting it or not. I too lost my dog Kayla yesterday. I knew her time was coming, but it still hit hard. They are family members. I will keep you in my prayers.

    • I’m so sorry that we’ll share such a sad anniversary. It has been a quiet, lonely morning without the Nige…

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Yvonne A on said:

        I know.. we will share a sad anniversary together.. we are going through the same thing..it’s been quiet.. my husband does not want to be home, or even walk outside in the back yard.. too many memories.. too much pain.. we both have found ourselves, going to the door, to look for her to let her in only to realize..she’s gone.. it’s hard to choke back those tears. to see her water bowl.. or to remind our oldest daughter..”don’t forget to feed Kayla”….I know it takes time.. my heart goes out to you, because I am feeling what you are feeling right now..

  16. I am so sorry! There are no words…

  17. Thinking of you and your family….

  18. Sweet, sweet Nigel. I can’t help but cry. I’m going to miss him, too. I never got to snuggle his little ears or massage his little feet or scratch his fuzzy little neck and I know you will miss all of those special moments. He was a very special little man. Hugs and kisses to you, the Hubs and Drew at the loss of your baby boy. I’m sure he’s romping and stomping in heaven right now.

  19. So sorry for the pain you’re feeling. And you must have heard this quote: “We may want them with us always, but they have a way of letting us know when it’s their time to go be with the angels”. That comforted me when we lost our sweet kitty, Beezy, a couple of years ago.
    You’ll always have your memories of sweet Nigel.

  20. Oh no, I am so sad to hear this news! I am just now catching up on some blog reading and I know it’s SO difficult to lose a beloved pet. Nigel will be missed by all your blog readers, too. I feel like I knew his quirky little personality from reading your stories about him and he always made me smile. I still grieve for my dog Ginger and she’s been gone for a year and a half now. I read somewhere that sometimes you have “once in a lifetime dogs” and I think Nigel and Ginger would both qualify.

  21. shyvonne on said:

    Just now catching up,
    I am so sorry for your loss of Nigel. It’s funny how dogs are so much a part of our lives. I know you will miss him, but you will tell Drew all the stories about him.

Leave a Reply

