Key Lime Pie

I finally got my key lime pie fix!!!

I wish I could tell you that I made it from scratch… but I have too much going on to make it all from scratch. So I took some assistance from store-bought items to make this pie simple.

And when I say simple, I mean S-I-M-P-L-E!!! I took this recipe from the bottle of Nellie & Joe’s Key Lime Juice. (Read, I didn’t take the time to squeeze fresh limes).

I also elected to purchase miniature graham cracker crusts to make little bitty pies.

The filling took 30 seconds to throw together.

I slopped equal amounts into 6 mini crusts, threw it in the oven for 15 minutes, then cooled them for a while before slingin’ ’em into the fridge. Then, I slept for approximately 1 hour and 26 minutes before the baby was screaming at me for yet another bottle.

Topping the key lime pie with a little fresh whipped cream really balances out the sweetness of the graham cracker crust and the bitterness of the key lime filling.

Mmmmmm, I have already gobbled up 2 of my little pies and will be giving my neighbors the rest to avoid eating all of them!

While this recipe is super easy, the flavor is fantastic. I think I would prefer a homemade graham cracker crust though… But for literally 5 minutes of effort, this was a really great tasting recipe.

And with this little monster keeping me go-go-going, it’s nice to have a semi-homemade pie in the fridge. It makes me feel so accomplished! (Of course, I ate the pie on the heels of a fast food dinner, but whatever.)

L&V

This entry was published on August 20, 2011 at 10:54 pm and is filed under In the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Key Lime Pie

  1. M.J. Jacobsen on said:

    You sooo deserved this pie! !! Drew is the cutest lil monster! !! 🙂

  2. Is it just me, or does it look like Drew is thinking “Hey lady… are your going to finish that?”

  3. Good you took the time to please yourself.
    I’ve discovered one recipe for a lemon tart yesterday, labelled “easy” and it is.
    3 eggs, 150g sugar, 100g melted butter, juice of 2 lemons beaten together.
    Pour on a crust. 30mn in a 200° oven. Looks and tastes fantastic.

  4. Meghan on said:

    Yummo! Looks pretty much “from scratch” to me! 🙂 Drew is adorable!

  5. Always make dessert FIRST! It is obvious you have your priorities in the proper order.

  6. Ummm hello!!! That TOTALLY COUNTS as homemade!!! Yeah for you for finally getting your fix, that’s the best feeling ever isn’t it!! Look at how cute Miss Drew is! She’s getting so big too!! (and you know she wants some Key Lime Pie too, she just doesn’t know it yet! Heehee)

  7. You can use fat free sweetened condensed milk and it will not change the taste. I also use the reduced fat Keebler graham cracker crust. 🙂

Leave a Reply

