Peppered Pasta

 

I am finally interested in preparing and eating real food again. You might remember that during my pregnancy the only thing I could really eat was McDonald’s and canned peaches. (The stuff that champs are made of!!!)

Well, I guess things are getting back to some kind of normal because I actually crave meat instead of cringing at the thought of it.

With that said, I wanted big-thick pork chops yesterday. I wanted them grilled. And I wanted something really flavorful to accompany the chops.

I played around with the idea of an alfredo pasta, but wanted it to be spicier than a normal alfredo. And less fattening. And easier to make. 12 minutes later I had this peppered pasta on our plates, and we both loved it.

It was really simple, and totally packed with flavor. I used spinach becuase that’s what I had on hand, but I think it would be great with mushrooms or asparagus or broccoli rabe… Maybe add in cooked chicken or sausage. But as I made it, I would say it was a big hit.

Peppered Pasta (Printable Version)
 
1 Lb Fettuccine (Cooked according to box)
1 Cup Pasta Water
2 Garlic Cloves
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
4 Cups Fresh Spinach (chopped)
1 Cup Parmesan (grated)
1 Cup Ricotta
4 Teaspoons Coarse Ground Pepper
Pinch of salt
 
In large skillet, heat olive oil to medium-high heat with 2 whole garlic cloves in oil. As soon as you smell the garlic, remove it from the oil. (This just lightly flavors the oil).
Add spinach, 2 teaspoons of pepper and pinch of salt. Turn off heat, move spinach around until just starting to wilt.
Add in hot fettuccine, parmesan, ricotta, hot pasta water and remaining 2 tablespoons of pepper.
Combine well, serve hot.
 
L&V
This entry was published on August 23, 2011 at 2:55 pm and is filed under In the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Peppered Pasta

  1. This looks delicious!! Thanks for sharing. Seriously… I love blog world… you guys do all the hard work by picking out the recipes and posting them… I just get to come by, print them, and try them at home where my family normally raves about the dish and praises me non-stop. 🙂

  2. Grandma Cheap Cheap on said:

    This does look good. I was over at PW’s blog and she cooked pork chops recently. I dont buy it really often but I bought a package today. I looked pasta and this looks easy. I know I will enjoy it.

  3. Grandma Cheap Cheap on said:

    oops , I love pasta…………….

  4. mommytothree on said:

    I make this to serve on my grilled chicken. A florentine pasta of sorts. We all love it! So glad you are feeling like eating and cooking again! I have missed your excellent recipes!!

  5. I would love to try this with mushrooms and maybe even asparagus. Sounds like it would be awesome with a thick-cut ribeye off the grill. Thanks, Alex. I’m glad you’re getting your cooking Mo-Jo back. It’s a win-win for all of us. (Somewhere Ronald McDonald is crying.)

Leave a Reply

